PDA

View Full Version : Hook computer into phoneline



nedkelly
05-01-2012, 09:20 AM
Is it possible to do this and use it to answer phone calls?

Speedy Gonzales
05-01-2012, 09:25 AM
If you had a program maybe, and a faxmodem, which supports voice

Cato
05-01-2012, 09:36 AM
If you had a program maybe, and a faxmodem, which supports voice

Whats a faxmodem? Voice support? :o

;)

nedkelly
05-01-2012, 09:41 AM
Well I have a Apple USB 56k modem that has windows drivers, would you know of any programs speedy?

Speedy Gonzales
05-01-2012, 09:46 AM
Exactly that it lets you fax from a computer, with a fax program. Something like this (http://home.xtra.co.nz/hosts/dynalink/products/v1456vqe-r2.htm). Altho I wouldnt get a USB one. Serial would be better. If your mobo has a port. You need a modem that supports TAM.. Umm nope, there are programs on the net, but theyre (probably) not free. Bitware (I think) used to come with some modems. But whether its still around (or free) is another matter

nedkelly
05-01-2012, 09:50 AM
OOPS Double post. DOnt even ask me how I did that.

Thanks for the info I will look into it.

Chilling_Silence
05-01-2012, 09:56 AM
Get yourself a Linksys SPA3102 and you can hook up a SIP Softphone to it.

nedkelly
05-01-2012, 10:29 AM
without the need for a voip line? I was really hoping to use a pc, could that be done with the above device?

nedkelly
05-01-2012, 10:34 AM
Hmm I see it is also a router, will i have to use that for internet to get it to work?

Chilling_Silence
05-01-2012, 10:49 AM
No that's optional if you want to daisy-chain a PC.

Yes, you won't need a VoIP line, that's also optional.

nedkelly
05-01-2012, 10:51 AM
interesting

Richard
05-01-2012, 11:00 AM
This would be similar then to what I had years ago. If someone was using the computer, the phone didn't work, and vice versa.

nedkelly
05-01-2012, 11:15 AM
that's dialup

Richard
05-01-2012, 12:07 PM
Yeah, I think it probably was that long ago. I remember vaguely some sort of log-on procedure that I had to go through every time. Things are much simpler now, for example I installed a new Linksys x3000 modem/router last week. It did most of the work. I just sat and watched. Magic.

Chilling_Silence
05-01-2012, 01:01 PM
Are you just wanting to answer calls? What about making calls, voicemail, things like that?

nedkelly
05-01-2012, 04:51 PM
Answer calls + make calls.
Dont need voicemail, got an answer machine for that :D:D