PDA

View Full Version : Good SSD



The Error Guy
22-12-2011, 07:07 PM
Looking at getting an SSD as my 2ndary laptop HDD... well 2ndary SSD I guess, just for games and photoshop, maybe windows install if its big enough.

Not sure whats good, last time I looked into them people were saying they were subject to failing and over priced etc etc.

Not sure what size yet, just getting eye in for brand etc. Also something on the lesser price side, but I'm open to all options.

Cheers,

TEG

icow
22-12-2011, 07:31 PM
http://pricespy.co.nz/product.php?p=925025 OCZ seems to best value for money, ive also heard good things about them.

The Error Guy
22-12-2011, 08:04 PM
Cool, looks like a good price in kiwi land, Ill see what they are like up here. Might be better off from NZ

Bobh
22-12-2011, 08:11 PM
I have the OCZ Vertex2 ATA 120 Gb. It has worked well for me. The larger capacity has allowed me to have programmes and data on the SSD.

Chilling_Silence
22-12-2011, 10:14 PM
I went for the slightly faster speeds of the OCZ Agility 3, I've got 90GB and my wife has 60GB. It's enough for the OS, a few games, and everything else goes on the secondary HDD...

ronyville
23-12-2011, 10:09 AM
Not sure what your budget is but I would definitely go for a OCZ Agility 3 as Chill suggested. http://pricespy.co.nz/product.php?p=885130 this should give you much better performance. I would use it as my main OS drive with all programs and use a normal drive as storage.

inphinity
23-12-2011, 11:33 AM
+1 for the OCZ drives. They're brilliant, imo.

Chilling_Silence
23-12-2011, 11:42 AM
Just make sure your mobo supports at LEAST SATA2, SATA3 ideally, coz 475MB/sec * 8 = 3800mbps = Faster than SATA2.

The Error Guy
23-12-2011, 12:35 PM
Its a new Dv7 with the sandy bridge i7, should support at least SATA2 hopefully 3

Chilling_Silence
23-12-2011, 12:41 PM
Sweeeeet. Yeah use it as your primary drive though and have a secondary for mass-storage of stuff. Depending on what sorta games you wanna play, a 60GB *may* suffice but if you can front for a 90GB it offers a LOT more wiggle-room in my experience.

nmercer
25-12-2011, 03:39 PM
Intel 320 series

The Error Guy
25-12-2011, 08:37 PM
Ill need to get a second laptop SATA connector from HP, I forgot that they dont supply one for the spare HDD bay :(

Quick Q, if I just copy the windows install over will it work ok or would I need to reinstall?


Cheers and Merry Xmas

TEG

Chilling_Silence
25-12-2011, 09:43 PM
You could, using some Ghosting / disk-imaging software, but now's the perfect opportunity to have a fresh start anyway...

The Error Guy
25-12-2011, 11:17 PM
Less than a week after doing a fresh start?

Did it to make use of the unlimited data caps whilst in china :p so far I have munched through about 50gb of data, problem is although there is heaps of data the speeds are slow (we are on the most basic plan here) good for browsing but the fastest attainable transfer speed is about 160kbps) Back in NZ the speed is ok (about 1.0-1.3 mbps) but I only get 12 gb a month. As soon as we get fibre installed i'll be getting a bigger cap (finally) although that could be months away

Chilling_Silence
28-12-2011, 08:18 AM
Fibre at home or in China you mean?

Coz in NZ you can get yourself 250GB for bugger all with Slingshot, and I'm consistently hitting my max line speed of 13mbps. And yeah a week after doing a fresh start, why not, you've only got a weeks worth of stuff in there. Won't take you long ;)