PDA

View Full Version : New HD6870 failing



Chilling_Silence
15-12-2011, 08:23 PM
Hi guys,

So I got the HD6870 today, looks slick, only problem is that it doesn't seem to wanna play nice.
Fire up any sort of game or trying to refresh the Windows Experience Index and the driver crashes.

I've grabbed the latest drivers, removed the old ones, then installed the new ones. Win7 Installation is only about 3 weeks old.

I've got a Coolermaster 460watt PSU powering that (Using both the two GPU Power Connectors) and an OCZ Agility3 SSD. Nothing else. Could be it?
Could be the temperature of the GPU, it seems to be running pretty damn hot?!

Fully updated windows. Not overclocking. Any ideas?

Attached file: speccy_results.jpg (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/upload/speccy_results.jpg) (92 KB)
Attached file: Before.jpg (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/upload/Before.jpg) (130 KB)
Attached file: After_1.jpg (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/upload/After_1.jpg) (127 KB)

Chilling_Silence
15-12-2011, 08:25 PM
Cant help but wonder if its reporting the GPU temperature wrong coz I shut it down (It's been on for about 45 minutes), fired it back up, and it was higher than ever. Manually forced the fan speed (Was on Auto) up from aroudn 70% to 100% and still no improvement:
Attached file: Speccy_results2.png (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/upload/Speccy_results2.png) (47 KB)

Speedy Gonzales
15-12-2011, 08:29 PM
So 11.12 is installed?? Those just came out. Strange things used to happen, when I installed the ATI drivers as well. They crashed. And video corruption. I thought the card was the prob. But since Ive reinstalled Win7, and I'm using the Windows drivers, it hasnt happened again. Wouldnt be surprised if the SSD is the cause. I've read OCZ SSD's arent reliable. And can cause probs. And they can also cause crashes. Is the latest fw on the SSD?

Chilling_Silence
15-12-2011, 08:32 PM
Try something older perhaps? 11.10?

Speedy Gonzales
15-12-2011, 08:36 PM
I think 11.10 here caused my probs. Didnt install 11.11. And I had formatted / reinstalled before 11.12 came out. I've downloaded 11.12, but havent installed them yet. Windows 7 works fine without them, and the resolution is the native resolution.

Chilling_Silence
15-12-2011, 08:41 PM
Might try removing them all then installing from Windows Update. BRB - Rebooting to remove drivers...

wainuitech
15-12-2011, 08:44 PM
try putting some more grunt in the PSU -- According to the specs, 460 is not enough power.


■500 Watt or greater power supply with two 75W 6-pin PCI Express® power connectors Look under the system Requirements (http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/amd-radeon-hd-6000/hd-6870/pages/amd-radeon-hd-6870-overview.aspx#3) Under the Certified power supplies are recommended = Coolermaster GX550 is the smallest

Speedy Gonzales
15-12-2011, 08:55 PM
I'm using Win7's default drivers. The drivers it installed. Didnt install the WU drivers.

Chilling_Silence
15-12-2011, 08:56 PM
Hmm OK trip to PBTech tomorrow perhaps :D
Still, the temperature is concerning, why on earth is it so high?! The airflow is great as you can see by the temperature of everything else...

Chilling_Silence
15-12-2011, 08:57 PM
BTW - Without the WU drivers, it just detects it as a generic VGA 16MB card. Tried the WU drivers which failed as well as the 11.10 ones. No joy :(

Chilling_Silence
15-12-2011, 08:58 PM
Reckon this will suffice? http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=PSUCOR1500&name=CORSAIR-500W-CX-500v2-ATX-Power-Supply-80PLUS-120m

ronyville
15-12-2011, 09:13 PM
Here (http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/amd-radeon-hd-6000/hd-6870/pages/amd-radeon-hd-6870-overview.aspx#3), AMD recommends 500W or higher, If i was you I would go for a 600W or 750W.

8ftmetalhaed
15-12-2011, 09:49 PM
I would say http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=PSUCOR0652&name=Corsair-650W-HX-650-ATX-Modular-PSU-7-Years-warran or http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=PSUCOR1600&name=CORSAIR-600W-CX-600v2-ATX-Power-Supply-80PLUS-120m at least.

I'm running a 5770 on my bundled CM extreme 500/550W (i forget it's in my sig) and if I was gonna put anything else in it I'd upgrade the PSU too I think, simply because I wouldn't want to risk it.

wainuitech
15-12-2011, 10:09 PM
Personally 600W minimum, the old story, better to have to much power and have some in reserve if needed than run under power and cant get what you need.

The spec's say min 500W -- So add in any other devices that use power, Graphic Card + HDD(s) + Optical Drive+ Fans + the kitchen sink ( couldn't resist that one :p ) they may all be small but they all add up.

The PSU may not be the problem, BUT it is below the min recommended, and wont be helping.

Looking at the links provided, the price difference between the 500 & 600 isn't worth worrying about. Dont skimp on a PSU's if the have problems, it can cause a lot of expensive problems.

Chilling_Silence
16-12-2011, 06:40 AM
Would that be affecting the temperature by any chance? I'm a little concerned about that to say the least. Shut it down almost straight away, not worth running the risk with it..

pctek
16-12-2011, 06:57 AM
So I got the HD6870 today, looks slick, only problem is that it doesn't seem to wanna play nice.


I've got a Coolermaster 460watt PSU

The minute I saw that I was horrified.

Go and get a proper minimum 650w, better yet 750w.
More is better than not enough.

Chilling_Silence
16-12-2011, 07:55 AM
Am I better off with the Corsair branded 600w, or the Coolermaster 700w?
http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=PSUCLM0700 vs
http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=PSUCOR1600

dugimodo
16-12-2011, 09:24 AM
Corsair
Cooler master are just "OK" and are guilty of exagerated wattage ratings.
http://extreme.outervision.com/PSUEngine seems to think you only need <400W from what specs I could glean but it doesn't mention amperage on the 12V rail which is the main thing for graphics

I like to use furmark when I suspect graphics temps, it graphs most cards quite accurately while loading to 100% - that said modern cards should just thermal limit and not actually crash. If the card is getting hot you should hear the fans pick up speed.

Did you read the temps in the catalyst control centre or with something else ?

Chilling_Silence
16-12-2011, 10:58 AM
Cool, glad I got the 600w Corsair then :D

Yeah I used the eXtreme Power Supply Calculator and it came back and said I only needed like a 375w PSU, but I think you may be right about the amperage.

I checked temps in CCC as well as Speccy.

About to throw the new PSU in. Wish me luck, will post back soon :D Thanks for the advise all!

Chilling_Silence
16-12-2011, 11:12 AM
Nup it still idles around 80 and as soon as I try and update the Windows Experience Index it shoots up to 90 / 92 degrees then crashes the WEI test.

%@#$

Looks like I'm taking it back ...

Chilling_Silence
16-12-2011, 01:29 PM
OK so I got the 2nd one. Came home happy as can be, popped it in, and it died just the same :(

Anyways, a hunch told me it was a problem with the temperature, so I searched "HD6870 Overheating", turns out a lot of them do.

Race down to DSE, buy some horribly overpriced thermal paste. Throw it on to the card (There was next to none. Only a 2 minute job) and it's good as gold, idles around 57 degrees now. Might take it apart again later and fully clean it off and re-apply the paste with a little less haste, but its good, working, and my old PSU probably is fine :p Still, better safe than sorry.

So, I rang back DTC Systems and told them to do likewise with the other one, save sending it back to manufacturer.

Now to go play :D

Metla
16-12-2011, 01:45 PM
what brand of card is it?

pctek
16-12-2011, 01:57 PM
Race down to DSE, buy some horribly overpriced thermal paste. Throw it on to the card

You have to be careful, put too much on and watch it spill out and do bad things...

wratterus
16-12-2011, 02:50 PM
I'm interested to know what brand too, I have an Asus 6870 and it's excellent, running 4 screens off it :nerd:

Chilling_Silence
16-12-2011, 04:17 PM
http://www.dtconline.co.nz/components/componentview.asp?partid=11191

gary67
16-12-2011, 05:19 PM
I'm interested to know what brand too, I have an Asus 6870 and it's excellent, running 4 screens off it :nerd:
I'm using a Asus 5450 fanless and its great for what I do

Metla
17-12-2011, 09:56 AM
So Chilli, are you happy with the performance of the new card?

Chilling_Silence
17-12-2011, 12:46 PM
Heck yes, for the price. Makes a nice difference over the 4850, but it's not *huge*. Definitely worth it :)

pctek
17-12-2011, 03:43 PM
Powercolour. Right.

ChazTheGeek
17-12-2011, 03:57 PM
The whole thing is just sad.

icow
17-12-2011, 04:27 PM
Powercolour, that explains everything...

Chilling_Silence
17-12-2011, 06:17 PM
Im stoaked with it now though :D

dugimodo
17-12-2011, 11:15 PM
Awesome that you got it working, but myself I'd never be happy with a new product I had to repair to make work.
Have the sudden urge to test my new card for heat, can't believe I didn't yet.

Chilling_Silence
18-12-2011, 08:31 AM
This is true, but considering I have a new PSU that I wasn't planning on, right before Christmas, my options are rather financially limited ;)

wainuitech
18-12-2011, 09:25 AM
I wouldn't go being to worried about what others think of brands-- a lot of people are all talk and no action, esp when it comes to actually using a certain product - lots of arm chair experts about, when it comes down to it what people want and what they can afford can be two different things.

Powercolor are actually manufactured by FoxConn, who also happens to manufacture many other name brand products, which people think highly of.

As long as it works, and you are happy with its performance and price, stuff what others think - ;)

Chilling_Silence
18-12-2011, 02:28 PM
Yeh thanks. Obviously the age-old saying "You get what you pay for" is applicable, because I wouldn't have to have added the additional thermal paste were it a more expensive card.

Still for the price and performance boost, it's a small sacrifice that I'm more than willing to make :)