PDA

View Full Version : European mains lead



andy
06-12-2011, 06:27 PM
Hi Guys, I know this is not a PC problem but someone might know the answer. I'm trying to source a two-pin Euro plug (the thin style, not the fat round one) or an appliance lead with a moulded plug on it. My Denon amp has a switched outlet which I want to use to supply the sub-woofer but I cannot source a suitable plug. Any ideas? Does anyone have one lying around that they want to sell off?
Regards
andy

gary67
06-12-2011, 06:31 PM
Do you have a local recycling centre? The one here in Nelson always has dozens of leads from all over the world. Post a picture on here of what you need

andy
06-12-2011, 06:37 PM
I'm not quite sure how this file attachment thing works. I've uploaded a pic so I hope it shows

Speedy Gonzales
06-12-2011, 06:44 PM
You could get this. It looks like that plug. Its an adapter (http://www.dicksmith.co.nz/product/M7314/travel-adaptor-new-zealand-to-europe)

andy
06-12-2011, 07:00 PM
No, that doesn't fit. It has to be the skinny version as shown as the socket is recessed.

Phil B
06-12-2011, 07:20 PM
Try Warren at WOT electronics in St Heliers. He's a repair agent for Denon.

coldot
06-12-2011, 08:45 PM
Would an adaptor solve the problem? 3434
PM me if you want it.

Otherwise I have a lead with black plug as shown in your image and figure 8 socket on the other end. I guess you would need to change that connector.

Billy T
06-12-2011, 09:59 PM
I think I too have a plug of that type. Can you tell us your location please?

Also important are the type of connector you need on the other end, and how the lead will connect in to your sub-woofer. It may prove simpler and safer to change the socket on the amp to ensure that the supply is polarised.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

PENTIUM
06-12-2011, 10:59 PM
Try Jaycar.

Agent_24
07-12-2011, 10:53 AM
Try eBay!

andy
07-12-2011, 07:08 PM
Hi Guys, I presume PM is personal message - how? I'm in hamilton. Appliance lead is exactly what I'm after. I want to wire it into a relay so no issue of what's on the other end cos I'm gonna cut it off.
andy

1101
08-12-2011, 01:04 PM
My Denon amp has a switched outlet...

check the max power rating of that switched outlet. It might be too low to run a descent sub-amp ??
Make sure the amp/whatever you want to plus in matches

andy
17-12-2011, 04:41 PM
Thanks to all of you who replied to this. Coldot has kindly supplied a lead and it does the job admirably - thanks Coldot, most appreciated. Merry Christmas everyone.
andy