PDA

View Full Version : ask.com infected my search box



Organicpete
06-11-2011, 10:16 AM
Hi Guys,
How do I stop this bloody ask.com defaulting to top in my search drop box in Firefox ?
I have not got ask toolbar installed.

Thanks Pete

thus...
http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6099/6315764467_8e697ecdd8.jpg

Digby
06-11-2011, 10:19 AM
I get about one tool bar a week, that either installs itself or wants to.

I just which they would all go away.

No one wants them.

Perhaps Firefox should add an option to block all tool bars and ask you when you start the browser if if you want to install this tool bar ?

Organicpete
06-11-2011, 10:22 AM
As I said...I have not got the toolbar.

Renegade
06-11-2011, 10:31 AM
Click the pulldown, and Manage Search Engines then remove or move it up or down the list.
Just noticed I have Bing mine, time to nuke it ;)
33493350

pcuser42
06-11-2011, 10:31 AM
Click Manage Search Engines as shown in the screenshot... :stare:

Organicpete
06-11-2011, 10:38 AM
Ah THAT manage search engines line :)
Thanks guys I must be blind.
cheers
Pete

pctek
06-11-2011, 08:48 PM
Can't say I've ever seen a toolbar install itself, it's usually bundled with something and installs if you use the standard install rather than custom.

1101
07-11-2011, 04:21 PM
Yep, have a look in add/remove programs. It may be installed in Win.
Even some new PC's have it pre-installed , grrrrrr

Stephen Musaphia
21-12-2011, 10:31 AM
It's infected my toolbox as well. Forgive my ignorance but whats a pulldown?

Lurking
21-12-2011, 10:49 AM
It's infected my toolbox as well. Forgive my ignorance but whats a pulldown?

That little box on r/h side of screen.

Lurking.