PDA

View Full Version : SQL help



Renmoo
03-11-2011, 11:53 AM
Hi all,

I am trying to install a software called "Guildlink (http://www.polychromenz.com/businesssoftware/guildlink/)". In order to get it working, it needs to be able to access SQL server for database storage purpose. I installed Microsoft SQL server 2008 R2 32-bit (http://www.microsoft.com/sqlserver/en/us/editions/express.aspx) on the local computer. As I was installing the Guildlink software, I selected the local SQL server on the computer for database creation. The following error message came up:

SQL Server could NOT be found

The Database was NOT created. You MUST have access to SQL Server or have SQL Server Express installed.
Please check and then retry.

What should I do next?

Cheers :)

Erayd
03-11-2011, 01:54 PM
Have you configured SQL Server, and is it running?

Renmoo
03-11-2011, 02:10 PM
Have you configured SQL Server, and is it running?
How do I find out if the configuration is correct? And yes it is running. :)

Renmoo
03-11-2011, 02:11 PM
*Regarding my first question: What are the things that I need to look out for?

Erayd
03-11-2011, 03:08 PM
How do I find out if the configuration is correct? And yes it is running. :)You'll need to read the documentation for your application to see what it needs - it should be spelled out pretty plainly what the database requirements are.

Renmoo
03-11-2011, 05:17 PM
You'll need to read the documentation for your application to see what it needs - it should be spelled out pretty plainly what the database requirements are.
Hmmm... pretty disappointing:


You need to have SQL Server Express 2005 (or Greater).
SQL Express Available at:
http://www.microsoft.com/express/Database/

That's all.

I have a feeling that it is the authentication aspect which is blocking the Guildlink software from communicating with the database.

Renmoo
03-11-2011, 05:26 PM
I'm just looking at the configuration page. Is there something in here that I should change?

http://i.imgur.com/IRjih.jpg

Cheers :)

Erayd
03-11-2011, 06:44 PM
I'm just looking at the configuration page. Is there something in here that I should change?

http://i.imgur.com/IRjih.jpg

Cheers :)Obviously something needs to change, but I don't have the documentation for your application in front of me - if you want to ask a question that general, you'll need to give me more context in which to offer advice.

Did you read the documentation? Note that I'm not talking about the dependency information you quoted above, I'm talking about the database configuration. Unless they're utterly useless, their documentation should spell out exactly what it requires. It's unlikely to give you step-by-step instructions, but it should explain what the end result is that you need to achieve to get it to run.

Do you have a link to the documentation?

Renmoo
13-11-2011, 11:19 AM
Obviously something needs to change, but I don't have the documentation for your application in front of me - if you want to ask a question that general, you'll need to give me more context in which to offer advice.

Did you read the documentation? Note that I'm not talking about the dependency information you quoted above, I'm talking about the database configuration. Unless they're utterly useless, their documentation should spell out exactly what it requires. It's unlikely to give you step-by-step instructions, but it should explain what the end result is that you need to achieve to get it to run.

Do you have a link to the documentation?
I read the documentation three times and I must say the details contained is pretty minimal. I contacted the company to get them to send me more information on server setup, but they said to provide anything more than what is already available on their website would incur additional installation cost.

In the end, I went into the server configuration page and changed the "Log On As" settings from NETWORKSERVICE to LOCALSERVICE and that fixed the problem!

Cheers :)

Erayd
13-11-2011, 04:02 PM
I read the documentation three times and I must say the details contained is pretty minimal. I contacted the company to get them to send me more information on server setup, but they said to provide anything more than what is already available on their website would incur additional installation cost.Sounds like they're just greedy bastards, most people don't charge for basic documentation!

I'm glad you got it sorted :D.