PDA

View Full Version : Weird Steam connection issue



Fifthdawn
31-10-2011, 02:06 PM
I was recently invited to join the Steam DOTA2 Beta program, So I downloaded the client and installed the game. logging into steam and started the DOTA2 client worked flawlessly - however attempting to watch a currently running game, Joining a practice server or playing a 'real' game would all time out. Other steam games work fine on the network too, so this seems to be an isolated case.

The error message that I would receive when trying to join a game was:

212.655: Sending UDP connect to public IP 146.66.153.23:28028
Server connection did not have the correct challenge, ignoring.
Server connection did not have the correct challenge, ignoring.
Server connection did not have the correct challenge, ignoring.
Server connection did not have the correct challenge, ignoring.
Server connection did not have the correct challenge, ignoring.
Server connection did not have the correct challenge, ignoring.
Retrying public(146.66.153.23:28028) ...

I tried everything that I could think of:
Disable windows firewall and MSSE real time protection
port forwarded ports 27090 - 28080 (Seemed that the different servers all use a random port between that range)
Tried from different computers on the network
Configured my Draytec vigor router to stop acting as a PPPoA pass though and connected directly to that.
Trace route to the server resolved as far as the steam support group said it would.

In a last desperate act I swapped the Draytec router out for an old Linksys one which was lying around ... and it worked.

If anyone with networking experience/knowledge has heard/knows about an obscure setting that would cause this sort of thing to happen I would love to hear it. The Draytec with PPPoA pass though has been rock solid ever since I got it I and would like to resume using it if possible.

Speedy Gonzales
31-10-2011, 04:58 PM
I would look in the steam forums

Agent_24
31-10-2011, 05:01 PM
If a different router fixed it I would look at port forwarding \ router firewall issues etc

icow
31-10-2011, 05:15 PM
Put the computer into dmz temporarily to see if it is a port forwarding issue.

Chilling_Silence
31-10-2011, 08:21 PM
Lucky bugger! I'm hanging for Dota2!

Anyways, it sounds like whatever device you had *behind* the Draytek is what's buggering it up, in one form or another...

Fifthdawn
01-11-2011, 07:20 PM
Hi Chill,

I set the Drayec router act as a normal ADSL modem router and plugged it directly into my machine and the game would not connect. I then plugged the Linksys in (with as far as i can tell the same settings) and the game worked fine. I must say that I was quite surprised by this. The only setting that I could not find in the Draytec web interface was the MTU size field, but as far as I can tell this would not make much of a difference so long as it was not set to something silly?

I'm not sure how much you have seen but screen shots do not do the game justice - the game play is so smooth , even on my laptop the unoptimised beta version is "playable".

Chilling_Silence
01-11-2011, 08:28 PM
Post your ADSL Line stats from the Draytek?
Also, you could try factory resetting the Draytek?

Fifthdawn
02-11-2011, 01:54 PM
Just a quick update incase anyone else stumbles onto this thread via google or whatnot, I fixed the issue by updating the router firmware.

Chilling_Silence
02-11-2011, 02:11 PM
For the Draytek? Which firmware did you end up using?

Fifthdawn
02-11-2011, 04:20 PM
I used an updated version of the vendor firmware, version 3.2.4.4 (it was running 3.2.1.1 if I remember correctly). Are there 3rd party firmwares for the the Draytek Vigor routers?