PDA

View Full Version : How much RAM - W98SE



18-10-2001, 12:47 AM
I have a W98SE pc which gets used for video editing (Studio DV). I also often run several programmes simultaneously and flick between them. Current RAM is 128MB, with prices being low I though I would add more, either 128 or even 256, but I have been told that W98 'only uses 128MB well, and won't make good use of more'

Is this true?
Is more RAM always better?
Is 384MB excessive?

Thanks!

18-10-2001, 02:27 AM
Have a look at how much swap your using (start System monitor, and add SwapFile in use).

That will give you some idea of howmuch more you need.

Unless you run some particularly large apps (eg Graphics or Audio editing) I doubt you will gain much from having more than 256mb.

18-10-2001, 02:27 AM
I am using Win98, the original version, and I have recently increased my ram from 96MB to 224MB with good results. There are fewer conflicts between programs running concurrently, and things seem a little faster as well. Win98 SE should be the same.

18-10-2001, 03:48 AM
most apps will run almost at max speed with 256 ram, except graphics apps. they love ram.
384meg sounds good but 512 would be sweet.

maximum pc did a good test awhile ago. i'll see if i can find it.

note- as always check your motherboard will support it. even some new mboards will max out at 512meg.

18-10-2001, 07:40 AM
W98 needs 128 mb, but all of your other apps need some too, especially video editing.
Think more in lots of 512.

I have a friend who does video editing, and he has 1.5 GHz of ram.

Make sure your motherboard can take 512mb sticks.

18-10-2001, 07:59 AM
Go for as much ram as your motherboard can handle, and you can afford, because video editing chomps through ram very quickly.

18-10-2001, 09:58 AM
Hello Carl,
I am running WN98se and recently upgraded the ram from 128 to 256. It has definitly made a difference to the allround performance of the computer.
cheers,
Bob

18-10-2001, 10:50 AM
The limitations on RAM are largely those of your wallet and your Motherboard. Win98SE itself can address up to 2Gig (I think) of RAM, so as long as your motherboard can support it, and your wallet can afford it go nuts.
I run 384MB and thats pretty borderline for the very moderate video work I do.

19-10-2001, 01:13 AM
I'm running an AMD 750 Athlon with Win 98SE for audio editing. I recently went from 128Mb to 512Mb and it was WORSE!!!
Apparently Win98 has problems with anything in the order of 512Mb or above. There are some articles that have been written about it somewhere on the web, sorry I can't remember where now but any decent search engine should find them.

In the meantime I have gone to 256Mb and Windows seems to be running just nicely. It is an improvement on 128Mb but I am disappointed that I couldn't use all of the 512 that I have.

19-10-2001, 01:34 AM
the 512mb prob with win98 is easly fixed. theres a microsoft article on it. you need to adjust some vcache settings. easy way to do it is to use a prog like cacheman to adjust your memory settings.