PDA

View Full Version : Shockwave Player Failures - Constantly -------------->



SurferJoe46
19-10-2011, 05:21 AM
This is just getting crazy.

It seems that after an hour of streaming a radio station, that it all stops and I get a banner telling me that 'Shockwave Player Has Failed' or words to that effect.

What's happening?

I'm up to date in as many software and firmware places as I can find - any 'cure' for this or just live with it?

XP-Pro, SP 3 (?) or as high as I can get at the moment.

Running MSI and behind a Netgear WIFI, although this puter is CAT5e'd to it.

TIA

.

jareemon
19-10-2011, 10:57 AM
Is this a browser-based station?
What browser and version are you using? Have you tried in a different browser?
If you're using FF, try disabling other add-ons/plug-ins (except for shockwave) and see if that helps.

SurferJoe46
19-10-2011, 11:00 AM
Is this a browser-based station?
What browser and version are you using? Have you tried in a different browser?
If you're using FF, try disabling other add-ons/plug-ins (except for shockwave) and see if that helps.

This is in Chrome - Canary Build - but it happens in good ol' regular Chrome too. Not yet a problem in FF.

Everything's up to date (just checked).

I wonder too at all the Shockwave updates that still live in my Firefox Downloaded Files Library.

Do I just dump them all, toast them with CCleaner and then get another version of Shockwave?

Here's the stream link::: http://www.iheart.com/#/find/genres/Classic-Rock/

Snorkbox
19-10-2011, 11:21 AM
The stream link does not appear to work here.

SurferJoe46
19-10-2011, 11:26 AM
OK - sorry for that. Here's possibly another thing to consider though:::

When I rapidly scroll through Picasa, my sound stops until I stop scrolling.

Is Picasa anyway related to Shockwave?

Picasa has been telling me for the past week or so that I have an option to cease attempting to view and/or hide a video that I loaded into it from my camera, as it cannot handle the file.