PDA

View Full Version : Ongoing problems with MSWorks and HP computer and printer.



Thomas01
07-10-2011, 11:05 AM
I still have problems running MSWorks (now v8) using my brand new HP computer
and old but super HP printer.
Trying to print off either database info or spreadsheets I get told "not enough memory"

I have tried all the recommended tricks - loading down drivers from HP
following directions supplied by Noel Leeming - and absolutely nothing
works - its just the same.
Google "not enough memory" and its obvious that there all people all
over the place with this problem - not just me.

There appears to be only one solution. Get rid of the HP printer (which will work with
any computer except HP).
This seems to be a complexly daft situation.
But maybe my only solution - now I want to know - is there anybody out there
who has had this situation and switched to a different printer - does this solve
the problem?
Needless to say I am reluctant to get rid of my HP printer which has been excellent
and switch to another make especially if the action doesn't work.
Tom

Snorkbox
07-10-2011, 11:12 AM
I used to use MS Works Version 8 with an HP Printer. What model HP Printer do you have?

feersumendjinn
07-10-2011, 04:38 PM
You can get low memory errors from:
-HDD too full (insufficient "virtual memory" (page/swap file space)), should have at least 10% free)
-Insufficient RAM (should have at least 512MB for XP, 2GB for Vista and 7), on mobo
-Insufficient RAM in printer for it to print at high resolution, (try lowering the print quality (in printer driver preferences)). My Brother HL2040 will complain if I try to print at it's highest resolution. You probably can't upgrade the memory (I can't, AFAIK).
- Perhaps your Works is not quite compatible with your current operating system.

Thomas01
07-10-2011, 04:46 PM
The printer (a really good piece of equipment by the way) is a
HP PSC 1610 All in one

There should be no problems with the new desktop computer - it has
loads of RAM - massive amount of disk space etc etc.

It does seem to be a software problem.

Once again I am really wanting to know if anybody with the
same problem has found it cured by switching to another printer.

gcarmich
07-10-2011, 04:56 PM
Just guessing, but does you machine have more than 2GB of ram ? Sometimes old programs (sometimes just parts of programs) never expected to have more than 2GB of ram and when trying to allocate memory for buffers get it wrong and a negative figure is returned, hence out of memory issues.

mikebartnz
07-10-2011, 09:20 PM
I still have problems running MSWorks (now v8) using my brand new HP computer
and old but super HP printer.
Trying to print off either database info or spreadsheets I get told "not enough memory"

I have tried all the recommended tricks - loading down drivers from HP
following directions supplied by Noel Leeming - and absolutely nothing
works - its just the same.
Google "not enough memory" and its obvious that there all people all
over the place with this problem - not just me.

There appears to be only one solution. Get rid of the HP printer (which will work with
any computer except HP).
This seems to be a complexly daft situation.
But maybe my only solution - now I want to know - is there anybody out there
who has had this situation and switched to a different printer - does this solve
the problem?
Needless to say I am reluctant to get rid of my HP printer which has been excellent
and switch to another make especially if the action doesn't work.
Tom
This is your third post on this topic and I told you in the first one why it happens and changing printers will not make any difference.

Thomas01
07-10-2011, 09:56 PM
yes gcarmich -- my computer has 4gb - should be ample.

mikebartnz.
I don't recall reading any information about the cause but that is probably due to my
increasingly unreliable memory.
Perhaps I missed your reply but I will try and find it and have another look.
I seem to have had many reasons and solutions given to me but none of them work.
Or did you just give me a reason without a solution?
I must admit getting my new computer running perfectly is quite an effort -
I am still running old DOS programs and I expected hiccups there, but
have been really surprised by this particular problem.
I have got very irritated by it - just hope I'm not being as irritating to
members of this forum.
Tom

mikebartnz
07-10-2011, 10:37 PM
Post #4 (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?120573-MSWorks-amp-Win7)

Agent_24
07-10-2011, 10:52 PM
Maybe give OpenOffice a go? It should be able to open your files.

mikebartnz
07-10-2011, 11:08 PM
Maybe give OpenOffice a go? It should be able to open your files.
Forget OO go for Libre Office.

Agent_24
08-10-2011, 12:20 AM
Aren't they much the same thing?

mikebartnz
08-10-2011, 12:25 AM
Aren't they much the same thing?
Definitely not if you want to open Works files. LO is streaking ahead of OO. I don't know if the Apache foundation can breath any life back into the corpse of OO.

Agent_24
08-10-2011, 01:02 AM
Now that I've actually read up on it I see what you mean.

gcarmich
08-10-2011, 09:36 AM
Thomas01, its not that you've got ample memory, the problem is that for some old programs you've got too much memory. Lots of older programs break when the machine has more than 2GB of ram.

Thomas01
08-10-2011, 10:54 AM
Post #4 (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?120573-MSWorks-amp-Win7)

Ah yes thanks mikebartnz. Now I remember, but it didn't help me much
as your reply was outside my ability to understand zone. But good luck with the program - I will be one of the grateful users if it works.
But what puzzles me still is the fact that this situation seems to require a
HP computer allied to HP printer to get the problem.
And I still haven't heard from anybody who has tried a different
printer to cure the problem.
I'm tempted to offer Noel Leeming a chance to sell me a new printer as long as
I can return it if the problem does not correct.

Agent_24
I have OpenOffice up and running but must admit to not liking it. I miss the key stroke short cuts of MSWorks and the database frightens me with its complexity.
Gosh I'm an awkward so and so.
Now I must try Libre Office (new to me).

Agent_24
08-10-2011, 11:39 AM
Maybe you could try something else - print the document out to a PDF file or something and then take that file and print it with a PDF reader instead.

This one looks good: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bullzip_PDF_Printer

Thomas01
08-10-2011, 02:52 PM
Thomas01, its not that you've got ample memory, the problem is that for some old programs you've got too much memory. Lots of older programs break when the machine has more than 2GB of ram.

As well as my desktop HP I also bought a HP notebook thing.
This has only 2 GB of RAM but exactly the same fault as the desktop.
Bang goes another good theory!

Just to clarify matters:-
My main aim now is to find out why this problem occurs and is it right that
it needs HP computers running HP printers.
I really don't want to have to buy another printer.
Funny enough I seem to remember HP running into this same problem
about 10 years ago - anybody else remember it?

I have come up with a solution - clumsy but it works.
If I want any MSWorks database printing out then I simply save it to a csv file
and then open it in Excel - no problems from this point.
And like a lot of other people quite like Excel.
Perhaps I should switch to Excel instead of using a database.

Tom

mikebartnz
08-10-2011, 08:48 PM
Ah yes thanks mikebartnz. Now I remember, but it didn't help me much
as your reply was outside my ability to understand zone. But good luck with the program - I will be one of the grateful users if it works.
But what puzzles me still is the fact that this situation seems to require a
HP computer allied to HP printer to get the problem.
And I still haven't heard from anybody who has tried a different
printer to cure the problem.
I'm tempted to offer Noel Leeming a chance to sell me a new printer as long as
I can return it if the problem does not correct.

Agent_24
I have OpenOffice up and running but must admit to not liking it. I miss the key stroke short cuts of MSWorks and the database frightens me with its complexity.
Gosh I'm an awkward so and so.
Now I must try Libre Office (new to me).
Get rid of OO and get LO.
It doesn't matter what printer you have it will still have the same problem as the fault is in MSWorks.

Paul.Cov
08-10-2011, 09:02 PM
I have printing issues in Win7 printing from MSAccess - I get columns overlaid on top of each other.

My work-around is to install PDF995, and 'print' to the PDF driver, which creates a PDF of the item being printed.

I can then physically print the PDF without any issues.

Sure, it's a nuisance, but it is at least a solution.

My other issue is that Excel will never open directly from a double-click on a file. If only works if I open Excel first, then use the Open dialog to navigate to the file I want to open. Damned nuisance. Have read the MS help on the topic, and applied their hotfixes, all to no avail.

I don't think MS really care - it's just another incentive for folks to blow more money on an Office upgrade if they leave the problem unresolved. It's been documented for years and still isn't fixed.

Agent_24
08-10-2011, 10:01 PM
I don't think MS really care - it's just another incentive for folks to blow more money on an Office upgrade if they leave the problem unresolved. It's been documented for years and still isn't fixed.

Dump them then and use LibreOffice - I have.