PDA

View Full Version : laptop vga to old tv connection



notechyet
01-10-2011, 04:37 PM
Hi all
I want to watch movies on our old(ish, 8year) tv and best would be over the toshiba satellite pro s500(vga) .
My son connects and plays wii on it so I should be able to watch movies from a laptop?
Would someone be able to tell me what cable/adapter I need to get for this?

Thanks

Agent_24
01-10-2011, 05:08 PM
Assuming the TV supports only S-Video or Composite, and the laptop only outputs VGA, you need a VGA to S-Video converter, such as: http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/cables-adaptors/monitor/auction-411258190.htm

My friend has one and it works well. They are pretty cheap though so I don't know how long it lasts.

notechyet
01-10-2011, 06:25 PM
Assuming the TV supports only Composite, and the laptop only outputs VGA
I assume thats's what I got?
3222
So I need a VGA cable and I need a composite/S-Video cable, is that right?

Agent_24
01-10-2011, 06:36 PM
That one there is composite (Single yellow RCA plug)


S-Video is a black one with 4 pins (Mini-DIN - same plug as a PS/2 keyboard though that has 6 pins)

8ftmetalhaed
01-10-2011, 06:41 PM
svideo plugs are usually on the back of tv's.

feersumendjinn
01-10-2011, 06:41 PM
The (front/AV2) connection you have there is composite video (the lowest quality), you may have better options at the rear (AV1 and more?), take a photo of them.

So I need a VGA cable and I need a composite/S-Video cable, is that right?
No, you need 1 cable to adapt between VGA and whatever inputs you have.
http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/cables-adaptors/monitor/auction-410756171.htm or similar.

gary67
01-10-2011, 06:54 PM
Assuming the TV supports only S-Video or Composite, and the laptop only outputs VGA, you need a VGA to S-Video converter, such as: http://www.trademe.co.nz/computers/cables-adaptors/monitor/auction-411258190.htm

My friend has one and it works well. They are pretty cheap though so I don't know how long it lasts.

This is what I have done, too mean to buy a new TV when the old one works perfectly well

Agent_24
01-10-2011, 08:29 PM
This is what I have done, too mean to buy a new TV when the old one works perfectly well

Nothing wrong with that

notechyet
02-10-2011, 05:44 AM
hi all
thanks.
here below the rear of the TV box. So would I have to connect to the AV1? The trademe link shows a very short cable.
Are there any other ones available? Would we get low quality images on the TV due to those "old connections" ?
3223

Agent_24
02-10-2011, 08:18 AM
No.

Do NOT buy the cable feersumendjinn posted! They ONLY work if the laptop supports TV- THROUGH the VGA connector. They do NOT convert signal\format.

Unless you know for sure your laptop does this, that cheaper adapter cable will NOT work.

Normally you will need an actual converter device such as the one I linked to.


However for either device, an extension cable can be used.


Picture quality is never going to be better than a PC monitor (TV is low resolution) but for DVDs or gaming it would be fine.

notechyet
02-10-2011, 09:29 AM
No.
Thank you!
Picture quality is never going to be better than a PC monitor (TV is low resolution) but for DVDs or gaming it would be fine.
How about Netflx and other online TV's, should be allright?

feersumendjinn
02-10-2011, 09:32 AM
*NOTE*: Make sure your VGA card has TV-Out function capability.

Yes
I assumed he could read, and work that out for himself, Agent_24:groan:

Notechyet, there is a component (red/green/blue sockets) connection there (AV3), but you're already using it, looks like AV2 is what you'll have to go with.
Check whether your laptop can output tv through the VGA port (in your manual?), or go with what Agent recommends.

Agent_24
02-10-2011, 10:05 AM
Yes
I assumed he could read, and work that out for himself, Agent_24:groan:

Wasn't trying to undermine you or anything, I just recall other people on this forum and other forums who bought those cables despite advice that they were unlikely to work, and even reading the disclaimers, and then complained when they didn't work.

Agent_24
02-10-2011, 10:15 AM
How about Netflx and other online TV's, should be allright?

Yeah will be fine. You are likely to be limited on quality with those by your Internet connection speed anyway.

Don't expect 1080p or anything out of it though!

feersumendjinn
02-10-2011, 10:41 AM
Yup, fair enough.

notechyet
02-10-2011, 11:38 AM
Yes
Check whether your laptop can output tv through the VGA port (in your manual?), or go with what Agent recommends.
I will do that.

notechyet
02-10-2011, 01:00 PM
[QUOTE=Agent_24;1051224]That one there is composite (Single yellow RCA plug)
I assume sound comes through to the tv as well or is the sound via Laptop?

Agent_24
02-10-2011, 01:57 PM
No, the sound goes in through the red and white sockets.

Generally you will need a 3.5mm phono to RCA stereo cable such as this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/3-5mm-Phono-Stereo-Audio-Cable/dp/B000Q6LSVS

One end would plug into the laptop's headphone\output jack and the other into the TV.

notechyet
02-10-2011, 02:37 PM
Agent_24
Thank you!
I think I got it now. I was a bit slow to get there.:blush:

Sick Puppy
02-10-2011, 09:05 PM
Try these guys, I purchased a cable from them some years ago, it cost me a bomb, but the only other outfit doing them at the time I think imported them from China and copied their pics, which didn't fill me with much hope! They were US made, and variable lengths, variable sockets, pretty much to order.

http://www.svideo.com/pctvcables.html and pic is here http://ep.yimg.com/ca/I/videoware_2178_172357516

notechyet
04-10-2011, 04:47 AM
Sick Puppy
Thanks for that, spot on!:thumbs:
The explanation is perfect and I see (http://www.svideo.com/vga2videosmall.html) that I would need a bundle of bits and pieces. Not being too costly either.
Have you (or anyone) done a connection like the one in the link and the viewing being any good/satisfactory?

Sick Puppy
04-10-2011, 11:29 PM
The last link I had is the one I purchased, but mine is different as I have an S-Video jack on my laptop. Picture quality is good, depends on quality of what you're looking at, and the more RAM you have the better. It won't stand up to 1080 files, but then I have a CRT TV, so I'm not that worried yet!

I've not used the box you refer to, but I'm presuming the quality should be acceptable - as I said, depends on the quality of what you are watching, and how good your PC is. I would certainly trust what they have over Trademe/eBay sellers who import from china and pirate their pics, let's put it that way!