PDA

View Full Version : Renaming images



QW.
29-09-2011, 06:58 PM
How can I rename multiple images, but keep part of the original image file name for each image?

Digby
29-09-2011, 07:54 PM
I Use AF5 File Renamer by Alex Fauland

www.fauland.com

Its great for reaming or renumbering lots of files at once.

Speedy Gonzales
29-09-2011, 08:06 PM
Or Ctrl-A / F2 then rename the first one, the others will go in sequence

FoxyMX
29-09-2011, 08:34 PM
Or Ctrl-A / F2 then rename the first one, the others will go in sequence

That won't keep the original file names of the images. It will rename them in sequence following the same name as the first file, eg image_01 (1), image_01 (2), image_01 (3) etc.

I use LupasRename (http://rename.lupasfreeware.org/). It gives you lots of different options for renaming and does the job brilliantly.

Speedy Gonzales
29-09-2011, 08:42 PM
I know thats why I said it. Who cares what they're called. They're only pics

mikebartnz
29-09-2011, 08:54 PM
IrfanView

Strommer
30-09-2011, 08:37 AM
IrfanView


+1

http://www.irfanview.com/

Whenu
30-09-2011, 08:37 AM
Betterfilerename

Paul Ramon
30-09-2011, 08:45 AM
I have to rename image files all the time & have found the program 'Better File Renamer' the best option by far. You can set all kinds of perameters. It can be found HERE (http://www.publicspace.net/windows/BetterFileRename/index.html) Demo available but the full version is worth the purchase price IMO.

dugimodo
30-09-2011, 09:51 AM
my dos is rusty but I used to use a command line.....

Something like "rename old*.jpg new*.jpg". Undoubtedly I'm remembering it wrong but with a bit of research into dos syntax and you could probably write a batch file. Sounds ackward but gets quick and easy with practice. * replaces anything, ? I think replaces a single character.

8ftmetalhaed
30-09-2011, 11:27 AM
I'm sure there was some automated way of doing it. I recall in (perhaps pc world?) a few years ago it had a way to do it in XP. You could rename it using 00X format and windows would do it all properly for you.

Snorkbox
30-09-2011, 11:40 AM
I use this one:-

http://www.faststone.org/FSResizerDetail.htm

QW.
30-09-2011, 06:31 PM
I use this one:-

http://www.faststone.org/FSResizerDetail.htm

Is it any good?

Snorkbox
30-09-2011, 11:34 PM
Well it works for me.

mikebartnz
01-10-2011, 02:53 AM
Is it any good?
Why would he recommend it?

Digby
01-10-2011, 10:50 AM
Don't forget AF5 - its free ware and it works well see my post on page 1.
I sent him a donation.

FoxyMX
01-10-2011, 05:20 PM
Is it any good?

Haven't used that particular one but their products are generally pretty good.