PDA

View Full Version : Recommended PC Build

Caleb Watson
27-09-2011, 05:34 PM
Hello,

I am a student heading to university next year.

I will be studying a BCMS(Bachelor of Computing a Mathematical Science), I love my computer and use it every waking second of the day.

I love to multitask and often run multiple programs at once.

I will be buying a new computer (either custom built or ready made) at the end of this year and was wondering what hardware the computing community would recommend. I would as a computer store, but I know they would recommend whatever costs more so I think this is the best place to go.

About Me and My Computer Use:

Frequently Used Programs

Mozilla Firefox

Mozilla Thunderbird

MSN Messenger

World of Warcraft

iTunes

The Sims 3

Photoshop

Overall I want a computer that is going to run fast, for a long time and multitask without a second thought. I also want my computer that won't become out of date too fast.

What kind of specs (eg RAM, graphics ect.) would you recommend I buy?

Thanks!
Caleb Watson

Bryan
27-09-2011, 06:31 PM
Do you want a desktop or laptop?

Caleb Watson
27-09-2011, 06:48 PM
Just to be annoying I would rather a desktop just because they are cheaper but if I could get a laptop I would look into it

Speedy Gonzales
27-09-2011, 06:52 PM
Doesnt really matter what you get. Sooner or later it'll be out of date. Probably the year after

Caleb Watson
27-09-2011, 07:00 PM
Haha yea, but I was just more interested in what sort of hardware a "fast" computer has today :p

baabits
27-09-2011, 07:10 PM
Probably cheaper for you to get a laptop- I think the laptop saved me in Uni and would recommend one over a desktop anyway. Countless long nights in the library writing assignments.