PDA

View Full Version : Linksys E1000 Wireless N Router



Clod
26-09-2011, 08:59 PM
On special at Dick Smith. Would this be better than the thomson one supplied by telecom or would there not really be any gain by getting it. On a budget so not interested in going overboard with flash gear. Price is about $70.

skeptile2
26-09-2011, 09:14 PM
ok, first, most linksys routers are pretty rubbish, I used to have one (recently got a tp-link, far better). A lot of them are constantly reset themselves, and if you are playing an online game, then it constantly cuts off. So if it's for gaming, then do some serious research, you dont want one of the dodgy ones.

Chilling_Silence
26-09-2011, 11:26 PM
Yeah I agree, MOST Linksys are, but the TP-Link stuff is just as nasty.

Chilling_Silence
26-09-2011, 11:32 PM
Edit: the e1000 doesn't do ADSL you know? Just a wifi access point?

winaa
27-09-2011, 05:51 PM
I am also in the market for a ADSL modem+WIFI-router to replace the rubbish Thomson supplied by telecom, as a modem it works fine but as a Router its rubbish.
So whats a good Brand to go for? from what I read above I will stay away from linksys.

bk T
27-09-2011, 06:10 PM
I am also in the market for a ADSL modem+WIFI-router to replace the rubbish Thomson supplied by telecom, as a modem it works fine but as a Router its rubbish.
So whats a good Brand to go for? from what I read above I will stay away from linksys.

Most people here commented that the Thomson is crap; but from my personal experiences with 3 units of the Thomson routers, they are excellent. Very good signal strength (wireless), stable, excellent speed. However, I have to admit that the user interface (for setting up) is definitely not user friendly, other than this, I can't ask for more.

wainuitech
27-09-2011, 06:32 PM
Edit: the e1000 doesn't do ADSL you know? Just a wifi access point? Eh ??? :confused:

According to the manufactures Its a 4 port wireless router (http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.aspx?pid=80&app=vw&vw=1&login=1&json=1&docid=569fb644b459463585f374e6b2feb3a2_21479.xml) But yep, NO ADSL, for that it would need a modem attached.

Chilling_Silence
28-09-2011, 08:12 AM
Yeah the v8 is slightly better than the v7, but not enough that I'd trust it...

Recommendations: http://www.c2s.co.nz/blog/the-importance-of-a-good-router/