PDA

View Full Version : XP sp3 stuck in a loop



Erebor
26-09-2011, 08:30 AM
Old Toshiba laptop did not come out of Hibernate this morning, now it is stuck in a loop where it boots to a blue screen, then a restart gives you the ususal options of a safe start or normal start or last good config start ...... off it goes to a blue screen (which talks about new hardware, software etc) and then screen goes blank and we are back to the beginning again. Only way to turn it off is to hold down the power button.

I have the installation disk is there a way to recover from that?

thanks

Speedy Gonzales
26-09-2011, 08:35 AM
What does the stop error say? Does it show a file or driver?

Erebor
26-09-2011, 09:34 AM
it does not stay on the screen long enough just looks like Error and then a whole lot of 000000x0x0x0x

sorry is there a way to get it to stop at the Error screen?

Speedy Gonzales
26-09-2011, 09:39 AM
Reboot hold F8 down select disable auto restart. Then reboot again. If it crashes again, it should stop at the stop error

Erebor
26-09-2011, 09:58 AM
A problem has been detected . . . . shut down

If this is the first time .....

check . . . . remove . . ..

Technical Information:

*** STOP: 0X0000007B (0XF79E4524, 0XC0000034, 0X00000000, 0X00000000)

cheers

Speedy Gonzales
26-09-2011, 10:12 AM
That stop error can happen, if you've enabled AHCI in the BIOS. And you didnt install the SATA drivers during the install of XP. Disable AHCI in the BIOS (If its enabled).

What that stop error means is (if you dont install the SATA drivers for XP, and AHCI is enabled), when it tries to get into windows, it can't find the hard drive. Result that 0x0000007b stop error

Erebor
26-09-2011, 10:32 AM
thanks the machine has been running fine for months but I have gone into the Bios and under SATA Controller mode I have 2 options, 1 is AHCI which was selected and the other is 'Compatibility' so I am guessing you are suggesting I change it and see what happens?

appreciate the help

Erebor
26-09-2011, 10:34 AM
All right Speedy thanks heaps I am in!!!!!

Speedy Gonzales
26-09-2011, 10:43 AM
Sweet! There is a registry hack for XP. That'll let you use SATA (like in your case). But obviously you have to disable AHCI in the BIOS first, to to get into windows to do it. Cant remember where I saw this reg file tho

Erebor
26-09-2011, 10:48 AM
I am at work now, but have an external HD at home I use to back up my Win7 machines (makes and ISO?) is there something I can do for XP, that would preclude doing a total fresh install if a fatal problem occurred?

Speedy Gonzales
26-09-2011, 10:51 AM
Depends what the fatal prob is or maybe.. And whether it can be fixed or not. Just dont install malware / crap on it and it may live longer :p