PDA

View Full Version : Antivirus

Nhashon
25-09-2011, 02:47 PM
Im a student who wants to prevent internet threats as much as i can and to do that i have got a AVG Free Editions Software on my pc and yes i do update it daily and also i have heard that Google Chrome browser is good at security and i have that also on my pc . I also have the Mc afee siteadvisor to help find risky websites .

Though some things i would like help with is to you does avg free edition really have that peformance to stop threats and remove threats , (WHY) ? . I also really interested to find out if the browser Google Chrome stands out to be good at blocking threats , (WHY) ?
Lastly Im had totaly confusion on whether to choose Mc afee siteadvisor or Norton Safe web , so i had a look myself on some reviews of different sites reviewing them both , to me they both had a tie which means they both were said to be good at rating but i choose mc afee , i dont no why , maybe the reviews made me . Anyway , what do u think of my personal choice , are they ok , good , excellent , if u had to change something , what would u change ? let me know in comments .

wainuitech
25-09-2011, 03:00 PM
AVG = Crap, why --- I have seen MANY PC's / Laptops that have AVG totally destroyed with infections. Every single PC or laptop I have removed AVG from instantly becomes faster as well, its a system hog.

Lastly Im had totaly confusion on whether to choose Mc afee siteadvisor or Norton Safe web Neither -- common sense and a good AV along with a good antimalware usually is plenty.

if you want good AV's,

Free = Microsoft Security Essentials or Avast in that order

Paid = Nod32.

Just an example -- Two days ago, at a customers house, removed their Norton Internet security, and installed Nod32 - had not even finished installing and it found and quarantined 3 active trojans that Norton didn't even know were there.