PDA

View Full Version : Xtra DNS issues?



Miami Steve
05-09-2011, 04:22 PM
I have recently noticed that my laptop has been taking a huge amount of time to start up. Today I had enough and decided to try and troubleshoot the issue. The obvious bottleneck was in establishing internet access (via my Linksys wireless router). When I delved further, I discovered that I get no response from the 2 Xtra DNS servers that I have always used. (202.27.158.40 and 202.27.156.72). I believe that this is my issue, but have no idea what to replace them with in order to get things going again.

FYI: OS is Win 7 Ultimate (64 bit).

Cheers

wratterus
05-09-2011, 04:38 PM
What model router do you have? You could try google's DNS (http://code.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using.html) servers, or open DNS (http://www.opendns.com/).

I'm on xtra and have no trouble.

Miami Steve
05-09-2011, 04:54 PM
Hmmmm. Do you use the Xtra DNS?

Router is a Linksys WRT54G2.

wratterus
05-09-2011, 04:55 PM
Yeah all standard here.

decibel
05-09-2011, 07:39 PM
I see both those servers responding OK - approx 25 ms each.

You could try changing one of them to OpenDNS (208.67.222.222) but it is a bit slower -aprox 130ms.

pctek
05-09-2011, 08:02 PM
I have recently noticed that my laptop has been taking a huge amount of time to start up. The obvious bottleneck was in establishing internet

Really? Why is internet relevant to startup time?
You start, you then go on the net. Problem with net - shouldn't make any difference to actual loading.

Miami Steve
06-09-2011, 09:01 AM
Really? Why is internet relevant to startup time?
You start, you then go on the net. Problem with net - shouldn't make any difference to actual loading.

As the laptop is starting up, the network icon does NOT appear in the system tray, instead having a small blue spinning circle (at least that's what it looks like). Nothing pops up if you hover over this circle. The machine will also respond VERY sluggishly to any clicks until the netowrk connection has been fully established. Why would network startup not be considered part of startup?? :confused:

BTW - I have changed my DNS servers to Google (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.8.4). I also still CANNOT ping Xtra DNS 202.27.158.40...

Burnzee
06-09-2011, 10:01 AM
Hi

Get the fastest possible Dns from your place, get DNSJUMPER (http://www.tucows.com/preview/800158). This will time every free Dns, give the result and lets you insert it in to your setting with a click of a button. Oh by the way, it allows you to save your existing settings as well as flush the Dns Cache. Best of all, it's free!! :clap :clap

Agent_24
06-09-2011, 06:54 PM
BTW - I have changed my DNS servers to Google (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.8.4). I also still CANNOT ping Xtra DNS 202.27.158.40...

Xtra's DNS servers aren't supposed to respond to ping requests. Anything\anyone pinging them and waiting for a response is wasting their time.

Miami Steve
07-09-2011, 12:25 PM
Xtra's DNS servers aren't supposed to respond to ping requests. Anything\anyone pinging them and waiting for a response is wasting their time.

Thanks for that info Agent_24. Why would they do that though? How are you supposed to tell if the DNS servers are up? And how can you measure performance? Or am I missing something?

Agent_24
07-09-2011, 12:35 PM
No idea... They just say they don't, but not why.

http://telecom.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1274