PDA

View Full Version : Something has overtaken my Firefox homepage



Aporosa
21-08-2011, 11:25 AM
Morning all,
A couple of weeks ago http://www.searchqu.com/406 took over my Firefox home page. When I reset this to iGoogle (by loading my iGoogle page/Tools/Options/Use current page) it applies these settings until I next close down Firefix and open the application a-fresh. Then it reverts back to this ploody http://www.searchqu.com/406. I have up to date anti-virus protection and there does not appear to be any other issues. Can someone tell me please (IN SIMPLE MEAT-HEAD LANGUAGE) how I fix this. Cheers....

Speedy Gonzales
21-08-2011, 11:38 AM
Use malwarebytes update it then do a full scan

Paul.Cov
21-08-2011, 12:25 PM
A long shot... but check the shortcut you use to start FF and make sure the bothersome url isn't being called up / reset from there.

Aporosa
22-08-2011, 09:14 PM
Speedy - ran Malwarebytes. 12 probs detected, fixed, reset Firefox to Google, rebooted, but no change, still opening in that *#%@in http://www.searchqu.com/406 .

Paul.Cov - looked in the target files of the Firefox program. Can't see anything, but have to say, Im not that confident I know what Im looking for.

Should also say that I updated to the latest FireFox and still no change. This ploody http://www.searchqu.com/406 page has hijacked my Firefox!! Any other suggestions please???

Speedy Gonzales
22-08-2011, 09:18 PM
Try this then (http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/questions/829424) . It maybe caused by a stuffed addon. And/or if iLivid toolbar is installed uninstall it. Disable / uninstall the DataMngr addon if its there

Aporosa
24-08-2011, 06:45 PM
Speedy.... you are the man!! Issue fixed by following the steps (Try this then). Got my Google back and that mongrel ...searchqu... gone!! Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
24-08-2011, 07:27 PM
Sweet !