PDA

View Full Version : A machine on my own LAN gives: Destination host unreachable?



Chilling_Silence
19-08-2011, 12:01 AM
So I wiped Server 2003 from my server, and since I've reinstalled XP on it, I have a slight problem. I can't ping it!

C:\Users\Master>ping 192.168.122.250

Pinging 192.168.122.250 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.122.2: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.122.2: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.122.2: Destination host unreachable.
Reply from 192.168.122.2: Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 192.168.122.250:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

I've rebooted both. Both can ping the Gateway just fine, it's odd...
My ARP cache:

C:\Users\Master>arp -a

Interface: 192.168.122.2 --- 0xb
Internet Address Physical Address Type
192.168.122.1 00-22-15-54-0f-14 dynamic
192.168.122.3 6c-f0-49-da-c1-27 dynamic
192.168.122.4 00-90-a9-72-4a-33 dynamic
192.168.122.255 ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff static
224.0.0.2 01-00-5e-00-00-02 static
224.0.0.22 01-00-5e-00-00-16 static
224.0.0.252 01-00-5e-00-00-fc static
239.255.255.250 01-00-5e-7f-ff-fa static
255.255.255.255 ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff static


Both my Win7 machine and the XP box have had the firewall totally turned off. My machine can see everything else on the LAN here just fine.

Any ideas ?

Agent_24
19-08-2011, 12:52 AM
Have you tried turning it off and on again? :p

Chilling_Silence
19-08-2011, 12:58 AM
Yes. Both :-(

:pf1mobmini:

fred_fish
19-08-2011, 01:18 AM
post the outrput of 'ipconfig /all' & 'route print'

Chilling_Silence
19-08-2011, 08:25 AM
C:\Users\Master>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Master-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . : domain.co.nz
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : domain.co.nz

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Con
troller (NDIS 6.20)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 6C-F0-49-A1-7D-49
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::91cc:9287:f180:54b0%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.122.2(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, 26 July 2011 7:07:34 a.m.
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, 20 August 2011 4:26:27 a.m.
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.122.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.D===
Interface List
11...6c f0 49 a1 7d 49 ......Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (
NDIS 6.20)
1...........................Software Loopback Interface 1
13...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
14...00 00 00 00 00 00 00 e0 Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
================================================== =========================

IPv4 Route Table
================================================== =========================
Active Routes:
Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.168.122.1 192.168.122.2 10
127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
127.0.0.1 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
127.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
192.168.122.0 255.255.255.0 On-link 192.168.122.2 266
192.168.122.2 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.122.2 266
192.168.122.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.122.2 266
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
224.0.0.0 240.0.0.0 On-link 192.168.122.2 266
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 127.0.0.1 306
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 On-link 192.168.122.2 266
================================================== =========================
Persistent Routes:
None

IPv6 Route Table
================================================== =========================
Active Routes:

If Metric Network Destination Gateway
1 306 ::1/128 On-link
11 266 fe80::/64 On-link
11 266 fe80::91cc:9287:f180:54b0/128
On-link
1 306 ff00::/8 On-link
11 266 ff00::/8 On-link
================================================== =========================
Persistent Routes:
None

fred_fish
19-08-2011, 09:31 AM
Hmm, that looks ok at a glance.
Both on the same physical network?
No DMZ set in the router for the old server?

What about the network settings on .122.250

Maybe it is getting the pings but doesn't know how to reply ...

wainuitech
19-08-2011, 09:37 AM
Hopefully you wont have made a common mistake :D

Just check that you dont have two PC's with the same network name - they cancel each other out and wont show.

Had that the other day, the person had three computers, two where named the same :rolleyes:

fred_fish
19-08-2011, 09:43 AM
That would confuse NetBIOS messages, but would not stop a ping by IP.

wainuitech
19-08-2011, 10:03 AM
Correct, normally, but in the one I found, I did a IP scan and neither showed up.

Stranger things have happened :D

One other thing that comes to mind, the router is not set a upper limit for IP Addresses is it, and the static is out of range. Seen it many times where the router is limited to 1-100 range.

it looks like the first ping is also contradicting its self :confused:


Ping statistics for 192.168.122.250:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

Yet it also saying "destination unreachable", if that were the case it would be 100% loss

Agent_24
19-08-2011, 10:56 AM
Maybe you've got a borked NIC driver (somehow?)

linw
19-08-2011, 11:02 AM
Have you powered the router on and off? I have seen weird access problems caused by bad routing tables after changing setups.

Chilling_Silence
19-08-2011, 12:35 PM
No, I've not turned the router off yet, I'm trying to keep the uptime going ;) It's a Tomato device, and it's been happily giving out the IP Address previously, it's not one of the "el-cheapo with buggy firmware D-Link / Thomson" devices ;)
Both on the same physical switch.
One is called Superman, the server (Even running XP) is still called "server" though.

I wondered that about the NIC, just got the latest drivers from the Intel website after installing XP though?

Any other suggestions ?

wainuitech
19-08-2011, 01:17 PM
One thing I would try - And this is from my own setup - If I gave a particular server a static IP of my choosing, it throws a hissy fit, to get around that I did the following:

Changed the IP to obtain automatically, reboot it,see if the server could be seen - :banana change the IP to static, BUT the one the Router gave it, then reboot and all has been sweet for the last 3 years.

Agent_24
19-08-2011, 01:22 PM
I would reboot the router. Uptime is nice but a working network is even better.

razzarphenix
19-08-2011, 02:16 PM
Power cycle the switch perhaps its failing to add a new mac address to its routing or its got a stale one?
Oops bit slow what Agent_24 said :)

fred_fish
19-08-2011, 04:12 PM
How about the 'ipconfig /all' & 'route print' from the XP box .122.250