PDA

View Full Version : Random crashes after system upgrade.

jackie.t
17-08-2011, 01:18 PM
Hope someone can help....

In January my computer was upgraded with the following hardware:

Intel Duo 2 Core E5200 Processor
Asrock G41M-AS3 Motherboard
DDR2 2GB Ram
512 MB Graphic Card

In April it crashed (blue screen and disk read error messages). Computer tech replaced hard drive (300GB) and all OK again for a couple of months. Crashed again with kernel stack error, and he replaced that hard drive with a new 500GB drive, citing that as the problem.

This time it only lasted a few days! Computer tech says he can't find anything wrong and has told me not to worry and just ignore the blue screens LOL.

On Monday I had a free computer check done elsewhere and this tech has changed a port on the motherboard and suggested that this is the problem!

Arrrgh, I am not a techie and just want it fixed!

I have paid the original computer technician $940.00, and am very frustrated as you can imagine. What's my best course of action?

Thank you in advance.

wainuitech
17-08-2011, 01:35 PM
Welcome to PF1 :)

What OS is on the PC??

Hopefully its XP, if not then the problem will more than likely be it hasn't enough power to run.

Download Blue-Screen View (http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/blue_screen_view.html) run it, and post back what the BSOD error is.

BSOD is caused by one of two things - Failing hardware or corrupted drivers, or any possible combination.

Edited: Just a thought -- When the components were upgraded, was a complete reinstall done from fresh ?

jackie.t
17-08-2011, 01:53 PM
Wow thank you so much for your very quick reply and advice!

Yes I am running Windows XP.

The BSOD error is: SYSTEM_THREAD_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED

Re: Complete reinstall question? The computer tech lists his services as: Transferred OS to new system, retrieved data, installed commonly used programs.

wainuitech
17-08-2011, 02:29 PM