PDA

View Full Version : OK I went and overclocked my SB 2500K



dugimodo
12-08-2011, 12:25 AM
No question, Just sharing todays experiment. :)

I bought one of these bad boys http://www.pp.co.nz/products.php?pp_id=AA28190 due to the limited space in my CM storm scout and overly tall Vengeance RAM.

Some Prime 95 numbers for all 4 cores at 100%

stock cooler
Idle 29c
3.4 stock turbo 76c 1.224v
3.6 mild OC 94c 1.284v
4.0 OC (stopped test) 98c 1.332v

antec h20
Idle 29c
3.4 stock turbo 55c 1.224v
4.1 OC 65c 1.332v

So it's cooler and quieter at 4.1G than it was at 3.4 :) I see a lot of people aim for 4.5g but I think I'm happy at 4.1 and it's very easy using gigabytes smart tune I just push the red 4.1 button and reboot :) I haven't adjusted any voltages, the cpu seems to increase it all by itself.

Also random thought, what's the point of the 3.3 "stock" speed ? when I'm testing the CPU is either at 1600 for idle or 3.4, it jumps straight to turbo as soon as any load is applied, the same when OC except it's jumping from 1600 to 4100 in one go

pablo d
12-08-2011, 10:02 AM
Also random thought, what's the point of the 3.3 "stock" speed ? when I'm testing the CPU is either at 1600 for idle or 3.4, it jumps straight to turbo as soon as any load is applied, the same when OC except it's jumping from 1600 to 4100 in one go

It's the fastest Intel gaurantees that the chip will chug at with all four cores loaded under demanding thermal conditions, so that's what it gets advertised at. You'll find one core can go to 3.7ghz at times.

Plus, a CPU marketed as having a speed of "1.6GHz - 3.7Ghz" would probs confuse most people.

Gobe1
12-08-2011, 10:12 AM
Good on ya Dugimodo. I have two i7 2600K here, 1 is overclocked to 4.5 and runs fine, the other one play silly buggers so have left it stock 3.4 but it turbos to 4.4 if needed. But yeah the idle at 1.6 weird why dont they idle at 3.4. Running megahalems coolers BTW

dugimodo
12-08-2011, 10:50 AM
What I was sorta getting at is if you set everything to default it never uses the 3.3 but bypasses it straight to turbo mode @ 3.4 ~ 3.7 depending how many cores are in use. I can't see how it would ever use the stock speed unless perhaps you had terrible cooling or manually disabled turbo.

I was a little surprised the stock cooler hit 75 degrees at stock speeds as my case has reasonable airflow. But the cooler is tiny when you look at it, probably the smallest stock cooler I've owned

Another intersting note, the Gigabyte Easy tune 6 setting for 4.1 apparently sets single threaded turbo a bit higher also, I saw a clock of 4.3 last night while experimenting.

Anyone know how to stress test a single core or a set number? If I set prime95 to a single thread I get a 25% load spread across the 4 cores, which is a good demonstration of windows load sharing but doesn't achieve what I want. Task manager can't set affinities for Prime 95 and I could'nt see how to do it in the program.

It's been rock solid so far but I've only tested all 4 cores at once.