PDA

View Full Version : 8GB Ram with 2.2 Ghz Processor



AZ1
29-07-2011, 06:45 PM
Hi.

We are interested on buying a TOSHIBA SatPro C660 T6670 Laptop from PB Technologies.

The processor is 2.2Ghz Intel Core 2 Dual. And the RAM is 8GB.

Our question is.
Is the RAM (8GB) too much for the 2.2Ghz processor to handle?

Thanks =)

Speedy Gonzales
29-07-2011, 06:57 PM
No the more the better. As long as 64 bit is on it. If it couldn't handle it, it wouldn't have 8 GB

AZ1
29-07-2011, 07:00 PM
Thanks.. Here is the link http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=NBKTOS1511638C&name=TOSHIBA-SatPro-C660-T6670-C2D-2.2GHz-8GB-%284Gx2%29-DD

Speedy Gonzales
29-07-2011, 07:24 PM
Should be fine, a bit stupid putting 32 bit on it tho

feersumendjinn
29-07-2011, 07:30 PM
Looks like you get both

Operating System: Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium (32bit) (includes recovery partition for
Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit)

Speedy Gonzales
29-07-2011, 07:32 PM
Yup but you have to use the restore partition to install 64 bit. It should be on it already since its got 8 GB

feersumendjinn
29-07-2011, 07:37 PM
Quite! ;)

Only 2xUSB could be limiting (until you buy a hub).

pctek
29-07-2011, 09:57 PM
Hi.

We are interested on buying a TOSHIBA SatPro C660 T6670


Is the RAM (8GB) too much for the 2.2Ghz processor to handle?



LOL. The CPU won't care if it has loads of RAM. In fact loads of RAM is good. Although it's not really loads these days, kind of normal really.

Nice machine, go buy it. And yeah - has to be 64bit or the 8GB is pointless.

Iantech
30-07-2011, 03:45 AM
Something doesnt quite add up.. It says 2x4Gb of ram, but 1 slot used and 1 free, if it has 2x, wouldnt that mean both slots are used? Or is there 4Gb built into the motherboard or fixed somewhere?
Looks a nice unit for the price, but yeah, 64bit version is required to make use of all that ram.