PDA

View Full Version : How to copy w7 setup to a backup machine ?

Digby
26-07-2011, 08:30 PM
Hi Guys

I am planning on building a backup machine for my mission critical apps etc.

The idea is if any part of my main machine goes down, I can just put my data drive (a physical D drive) into the backup machine, boot up and I am all away ! - do down time.

If I build the new machine, what is involved with setting up Windows 7 and all my apps on it ?

I can do it manually, but as I add and change my apps all the time, is there away to make a copy of the C drive, using a mirror or ghost image ?

I have never done this before.

Thanks

Paul.Cov
26-07-2011, 08:48 PM
What you're after is very sensible, and easy to achieve in Linux.

However, MS stands in your way, as they'll interpret such measures an attempt at piracy of their precious OS.

The price you will have to pay for their monopoly is the potential loss of your data, days of disruption, and numerous obstructions to block your success.

But if you want to pay them a few hundred for another OS, and near $1k for another Office suite you'll find fewer obstacles, but still no guarantee of success.

Digby
26-07-2011, 08:52 PM
WHAT !

I'd like to stay with MS and Windows 7

I know what you mean, but I don't like the sound of your third sentence.

Snorkbox
26-07-2011, 09:05 PM
@ Digby.

This backup machine will need to have a legal copy of Win7 on it plus any applications will it not?

inphinity
26-07-2011, 09:20 PM
Use any of the major imaging apps to do it, just create an image of your system drive - most of them like Acronis etc have a restore option to restore to different hardware (Acronis call it UniversalRestore i think).

wainuitech
26-07-2011, 10:05 PM
The biggest problem is going to be dis-similar hardware unless both machines have the exact same hardware.