PDA

View Full Version : Front jack not working for Realtek HD Audio on Windows XP



user123
21-07-2011, 03:54 PM
Hi everyone,

The front jack on my computer doesn't seem to work. When I plug a headphone into it it doesn't get detected, nothing happens. If I plug it into the back it works.
I've tried looking for a setting in the BIOS, I've checked that the Disable front panel jack detection is unchecked in Realtek HD Audio Manager, I've checked that the connection from the case to the motherboard are correct, I've tried looking in the motherboard's manual (http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite_2007/Downloads/DownloadFile.aspx?catid=1&driverid=3817&areaid=2&LanID=0), I've tried looking on Google, but I still can't seem to fix this problem.
I have a ECS 671T-M 1.0 Motherboard (http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Product/Product_Detail.aspx?DetailID=811&CategoryID=1&MenuID=16&LanID=0) with Realtek ALC660 6-Channel Audio. I'm using the driver that came with the Motherboard CD, I think the driver was called Realtek Azalia or something like that.
Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Thanks

inphinity
21-07-2011, 03:55 PM
front panel audio header is probably not connected, especially if it has never worked.

Speedy Gonzales
21-07-2011, 04:12 PM
See if HD Audio is enabled in the BIOS. It maybe on something else. Or the front audio connection, isnt plugged into an HD Audio header / isnt using an HD connector (It maybe AC97)

user123
21-07-2011, 04:34 PM
front panel audio header is probably not connected, especially if it has never worked.

If you are talking about the connection from the front panel to the front panel audio header, then it is connected. The cable is just one big cable that has lots of coloured lines joined together.


See if HD Audio is enabled in the BIOS. It maybe on something else. Or the front audio connection, isnt plugged into an HD Audio header / isnt using an HD connector (It maybe AC97)

Yes, the setting for Onboard Audio Device in the Integrated Peripherals section in the BIOS is HDA DEVICE, because the only options are HDA DEVICE or Disabled. I'm not sure if it is plugged into a HD Audio Header or not, in the manual it just says that I have to plug the connections into the F_AUDIO (Front Panel Audio header). The manual doesn't say anything about AC97.

pctek
21-07-2011, 07:50 PM
The front jack on my computer doesn't seem to work.
I have a ecs Motherboard

Well there you go. That's probably the problem. You did know they are the worst motherboard in the universe?

autechre
22-07-2011, 09:41 AM
The only other thing I can suggest is that is the plug the right way round on the motherboard header? If you've tried that, then the header is probably dead.

I often get the power, HDD light connectors wrong when connecting up a new motherboard/case.

dugimodo
22-07-2011, 11:07 AM
The BIOS or maybe a link on the motherboard should have a way to select either AC97 or HD audio mode (maybe), if it is different from the case connection it won't work. Some cases have 2 plugs on the cable for this reason so you can select the one you need.

The setting you mention sounds like it is just for enabling or disabling the onboard sound and is nothing to do with the audio header. The website you linked says it's HD compliant so check the specs for your case and see what connection it has, if it's AC97 that's probably the problem.

Iantech
22-07-2011, 06:11 PM
Hmm, go into your Realtek HD Audio Manager (icon should be down near your clock), click on Audio I/O tab and check if an item is detected in the Front Panel when you plug your head phones in. If not, click the spanner button in the analog section and check the "Disable front panel jack detection", then you should get sound to the front if your wiring is correct.
Hope this helps.
Cheers