PDA

View Full Version : windows 7 versions



Driftwood
14-07-2011, 10:09 AM
I'm sure this will have been gone over before but I cant find it in the search.
I am concidering upgrading to win7 HP.
The full retail version in NZ appears to be GFC-0025.
In the US & Aus GFC-0019 appears to be common.
What would be the difference?

Whenu
14-07-2011, 10:35 AM
Daylight saving, language?

Chilling_Silence
14-07-2011, 10:50 AM
Yeah it ought to work either way.
UK & NZ have the same product (GFC-0025 English - Rest of World)

What version of Windows do you currently have ?

Driftwood
14-07-2011, 01:20 PM
It would be replacing Vista HP 32
Will be doing a full install & going to 64 bit.

pctek
14-07-2011, 01:47 PM
It would be replacing Vista HP 32
Will be doing a full install & going to 64 bit.

:clap:clap

1101
14-07-2011, 01:57 PM
Buying off Trademe by any chance ??

Be carefull, Ive had customers buy Counterfeit MS products off trademe.
It may look legit, but just stop working 3 months later
If its alot cheaper than in the shops, then........

Driftwood
14-07-2011, 03:16 PM
Havent decided where to buy yet but those $299 ones on TM do look tempting.

Chilling_Silence
14-07-2011, 04:50 PM
http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=OSYMSO8670&name=Microsoft-Windows-7-Home-Prem-64bit-OEM-(GFC-00977

http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=ITPAK-SATA-050&name=Generic-SERIAL-ATA-INTERNAL-DATA-CABLE-0.5M-SATA-t

Iantech
14-07-2011, 05:10 PM
Havent decided where to buy yet but those $299 ones on TM do look tempting.

WOW, thats a rip-off

wainuitech
14-07-2011, 05:22 PM
WOW, thats a rip-off Not really ;)

Depends what version it is on trademe.

OEM as linked by Chill are about right, BUT Retail Box, which as shown from PBtech = $332.35 http://www.pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=OSYMST3573&name=MICROSOFT-MS-Windows-7-Home-Premium-RETAIL-BOX $289 +gst

Driftwood
14-07-2011, 07:00 PM
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=391516688

wainuitech
14-07-2011, 07:11 PM
http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=391516688 :thumbs: Looks like the same one @ PBtech - $332, so its a good price if retail is what you want. Only thing is, it may be pre SP1, so there will be a lot of updates required.

Normal Retail shops "should" be selling the software with SP1 these days.

Speedy Gonzales
14-07-2011, 07:29 PM
After you install SP1, its just as bad (50+ updates) :lol:

Agent_24
14-07-2011, 07:42 PM
Buying off Trademe by any chance ??

Be carefull, Ive had customers buy Counterfeit MS products off trademe.
It may look legit, but just stop working 3 months later
If its alot cheaper than in the shops, then........

You could easily fix that problem though...

wainuitech
14-07-2011, 11:24 PM
After you install SP1, its just as bad (50+ updates) :lol: That might be a bit over the top, just did a fresh install today, with SP1 , there was around 10 updates afterwards, that was until office 2010 went in, then came a few more -Oh BTW - office 2010 SP1 now appears to being pushed out as well, But I install that from a CD :)

If the install doesn't have SP1 - then I'd totally agree on the 50+ number, as there are a lot before SP1 actually comes available to download, and some updates, two in particular ( cant remember their KB Numbers) have to go in first.

Speedy Gonzales
14-07-2011, 11:31 PM
I have the ISO with the IA64 / X64 / X86 install files. I just counted (not inc the Office updates - I have the Office updates on the hdd - 51). This inc the net framework files as well. And some C+++ updates

wainuitech
14-07-2011, 11:37 PM
Doing another Install tomorrow, with a W7 SP1 OEM, not one thats slipstreamed -- I'll count how many available updates - and post back.

Speedy Gonzales
14-07-2011, 11:43 PM
47 not counting playready / office / ACPI / XP Mode, IE9 and the MSE updates. The first lot of updates was 41. After I had installed SP1

Driftwood
15-07-2011, 09:08 AM
Will Office 03 run on Win7?

autechre
15-07-2011, 09:43 AM
Will Office 03 run on Win7?
Yes, should do. Make sure you apply Office SP3.

linw
15-07-2011, 09:49 AM
Brand new laptop (June), without Office, took 350MB of Win 7 updates! IE9 and SP1 were big contributors.

Agent_24
15-07-2011, 10:54 AM
Yes, should do. Make sure you apply Office SP3.

OpenOffice also runs just fine

Driftwood
19-07-2011, 11:31 AM
I have decided to buy the OEM as I can get 2 for less than 1 retail version.

Fishb8
22-07-2011, 02:50 PM
I tried something of an experiment - at work we are still running XP (in a few weeks we change to W7 and will be using a corporate installation) but we have heaps of newish PCs around the place, each with their own Product Keys for W7 Pro. I made copies of several Product keys then I down loaded a 64 bit version of W7 Pro but made an image of my Vista HP to a HD. The Vista installation ran perfectly well but was just curious to see what would happen.
The W7 installed perfectly well but about 4 days later a message showed that my product key wasn't legitimate. I re-entered my product key again and it went and activated ok. I'm still running W7 after several months and all is ok.
Aren't all those Product keys on the side of every PC, at work, going to waste if they never get used?

Speedy Gonzales
22-07-2011, 02:57 PM
Keys will only be on the case, if you've brought it as a system. Obviously it wont be on it if you've built it. Unless you stick it on if you buy / install Windows

Altho, I'm not ruining my case, just to please MS. It can stay on the CD case

Chilling_Silence
22-07-2011, 04:15 PM
Aren't all those Product keys on the side of every PC, at work, going to waste if they never get used?

Kind of, yes, but you've gotta have a unique key for each machine, even if it isn't installed with it. Ideally you *ought* to be changing it, but nobody bothers :p