PDA

View Full Version : cat 5e got bent. will it be ok?



8ftmetalhaed
11-07-2011, 10:36 PM
Bought a new cat5 15m cable today. Laid it. Mum just tried shutting a door on it repeatedly. Casing has stretch marks, cable still works. I've stuck electrical tape on the bend and moved it and blu tacked it down, but will it be ok?

I'm feeling rather frazzled and could use a bit of reassurance that my $16 cable I bought less than 12 hours ago hasn't turned into a waste of money.

CYaBro
11-07-2011, 10:39 PM
It will probably be fine at 100Mbps at that length.
It just may not get gigabit speeds anymore.

Speedy Gonzales
11-07-2011, 10:44 PM
Think the cable I use here is about 15m. And its running at GB speed. Altho that depends if youre using a GB switch / router

8ftmetalhaed
11-07-2011, 10:45 PM
that's fine, i only have 100mbps ports on my modem. As I say, just really frazzled today. If it does break I guess I'll get it cut and remade and buy a joiner.

thanks :)

Iantech
12-07-2011, 02:11 AM
If it is stranded core cable and not solid core cable, it should be fine. Cat5e is only good for 100mbps anyway, for gigabit, Cat6 cable is best.
Cheers

pctek
12-07-2011, 08:40 AM
Might be - might not be.
You can cut either side and join with a connector if it is dodgy. Maybe you should have run it under the house.

Agent_24
12-07-2011, 10:51 AM
If it still works then it's fine.

If it randomly drops the connection or goes really slow then it probably isn't.

Only way to find out is to just use it and see what happens.

8ftmetalhaed
12-07-2011, 11:05 AM
rental. Drilling holes would have been better, or even installing another phone point. But such is life when you can't afford your own home.

Agent_24
12-07-2011, 11:23 AM
I wouldn't worry about it too much, I've got one that runs the length of the house and it's had its fair share of bumps and knocks, several years old but still working perfectly.

CYaBro
12-07-2011, 12:08 PM
If it is stranded core cable and not solid core cable, it should be fine. Cat5e is only good for 100mbps anyway, for gigabit, Cat6 cable is best.
Cheers

CAT5e is rated for Gigabit.
You don't have to have CAT6.

dugimodo
12-07-2011, 03:26 PM
The cable can be surprisingly tough, sharp kinks or flattened twists usually only mean a little extra loss and as a cat 5 system is designed for up to 100M @ 100Mb you can get away with a lot for shorter runs. The only concern would be if the cable used solid core wires and one or more is damaged enough to eventually break.

As for the CAT 5 / 5e / 6 thing, they all work fine and are virtually the same in performance. The only time it really matters is for long runs or where a large number of cables run together. As an example the standard white 2 pair internal phone wire will happily carry 100Mb long distances if you put plugs on the ends of it, I have a 25M one I made that works reliably. Each upgrade in standard is basically a minor improvement in the interference rejection of the cable.