PDA

View Full Version : Value of selling my computer



Jellymeat
09-07-2011, 04:45 PM
Hi there

I am looking at selling my tower in order to purchase a lenovo g570.
I would like some help in order to get the best value when i sell it.

Specs are:
Case: Thermaltake Soprano with side window
PSU: Cooler Master Extreme power 650W
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 AMD. It is an AM2+
CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 Quad core 965 3.4GHz
Ram: 4GB DDR2 1066-GSkill
GPU: 2x His H577FK1GD Radeon HD 5770 1GB DDR5 PCI-E They are running in CrossFireX
Optical drive: DVD/CD
I have no hdd in it

What kind of value do you think it is worth?

I also have a BanQ 22" E2200HD LCD full HD what would be the value for this if i sold it?

Thanks

wainuitech
09-07-2011, 05:22 PM
Will there be a OS supplied with it, (You mentioned no HDD) but the CD/DVD and COA ? If so what ( XP, vista, W7 )

Jellymeat
09-07-2011, 06:37 PM
If i had a hdd to put it in, i could put windows 7 64bit but would not be able to provide a disc as i need it for my other 2 computers which is running windows 7 as i purchased the family pack.
It is a CD/DVD writer

gcarmich
09-07-2011, 06:43 PM
Family pack. For use on up to three computers in one household by its residents.

pcuser42
09-07-2011, 06:44 PM
Also the family pack are upgrade licences so technically needs Windows XP or Vista anyway.

Jellymeat
09-07-2011, 06:53 PM
Yes that is true. so i guess i wont have operating software on it then.

Nomad
09-07-2011, 10:33 PM
For prices look at TM or where you want to sell it.

To get a better value, I think a HD and a OS with COA would be necessary, I mean what avg Joe/Jane would buy that? If no HD/OS, only computer geeks would buy it if it's a great price to them :)

Off topic, but I read that to get better value it needs to be OEM, people are not into fancy cases et al .. and since you have one of them you might have competition on your hands like Dells etc. The avg Joe/Jane probably prefer a big brand name rightly or wrongly.

Jellymeat
09-07-2011, 11:22 PM
Thanks Nomad for that info. I just put one of my 500gb hdds back into my computer.

Iantech
10-07-2011, 12:16 AM
The best thing you can do is probably convince a friend they need to upgrade or advertise it in some gaming circles, you might get lucky on TM and I would think that is a good start to find something with similar specs to gauge a price on as Nomad has said.

Sadly with any custom box, the day you assemble it, its already worth a lot less than what you paid for it, so expect a considerable loss, but timing is everything, and if you get it just when someone knows what they are looking for and wants it, you may do quite well.

You will reach a wider range of people with it all setup, OS all up to date and AV software installed. Advertise it as "Internet Ready" or something to do with "Online Gaming Capable" somewhere in your advert can help.

There is a lot of competition out there and I wish you luck.
Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
10-07-2011, 12:26 AM
Thanks Nomad for that info. I just put one of my 500gb hdds back into my computer.

If youre going to put a hdd in it, and windows is on it. I would wipe it completely with something like Dban. Then reinstall Windows if youre going to put windows on it. And just update it again (and dont install anything else)

Jellymeat
10-07-2011, 09:56 AM
It is a shame that I dont have an OEM version of windows or else i would put it on.
How safe is Dban to use?

pctek
10-07-2011, 10:03 AM
I am looking at selling my tower in order to purchase a lenovo g570.


Why?
It's not much improvement.

Speedy Gonzales
10-07-2011, 10:04 AM
Its safe. You have to burn the ISO after you download it

Then change the bootdisk to the cd, then boot from it

http://www.dban.org/download

It'll take a while, depending on the size of the hdd.

Jellymeat
10-07-2011, 10:22 AM
I'm only changing to the lenovo G570 because it has an i5-2410M 2.3GHz 8GB (4Gx2) DDR3 750GB 5400rpm 15.6" HD Glossy HD6370M 1G DEDICATED VGA BT2.1 HD Webcam 2MP HDMI DVDRW Win7 Home Premium 64bit 6Cell battery 1yr warranty

pctek
10-07-2011, 12:25 PM
Yes, it has. So why?

Jellymeat
10-07-2011, 01:13 PM
Because it is cheap and I am in need of a laptop for uni.

icow
10-07-2011, 01:27 PM
how about descent desktop and cheap laptop? assuming you want the laptop to take to lectures and what not.

Jellymeat
10-07-2011, 01:44 PM
how about descent desktop and cheap laptop? assuming you want the laptop to take to lectures and what not.

I want a laptop that has some power for gaming that is cheap and the G570 is just ova 1k. And it has what i need.

pctek
10-07-2011, 05:19 PM
I want a laptop that has some power for gaming .

Best you have a look here:

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/video_lookup.php?gpu=Radeon+HD+6370M

better off with your current system.

Jellymeat
10-07-2011, 06:31 PM
Yeah i have seen that before. However i am still in need of a laptop. Any recommendations?

icow
10-07-2011, 07:01 PM
You won't find a laptop with a decent graphics card without going to the 4k desktop replacement laptops...well for gaming atleast. Why not just game on your desktop?

Jellymeat
10-07-2011, 07:10 PM
Because i am trying to free up some room. I guess i could just have both.

Nomad
10-07-2011, 07:53 PM
Clearly not a gamer myself.

If you want to simply it down, makes sense. Just bear in mind while you may be able to play the games it just won't be as good as your PC. But then again .. many people do that tradeoff.

Jellymeat
10-07-2011, 08:00 PM
Yeah, well my laptop wont be my primary gaming system i have a ps3 for that, I only want one that is good enough to play some games when i get bored when i'm out.