PDA

View Full Version : Windows updates



Cicero
04-07-2011, 12:28 PM
I have tried several times to do an update as requested by windows, but for some reason, after about 10 mins it says some updates were no installed.

error code 80004005

Try again...have tried this over several days.

dugimodo
04-07-2011, 12:33 PM
If you are doing it from the system tray icon that pops up with auto updates sometimes manually going to the website and updating sorts it out, I had 1 update that tried to install every day for a wekk until I did that.

From your browser under security or tools there should be a windows update option, or it's in the control panel somewhere. Sorry for the vagueness but I'm locked out af any useful features of my work laptop so I can't see it to remind myself where it is.

Snorkbox
04-07-2011, 12:37 PM
Open IE, Tools, Windows update and see how you get on.

Speedy Gonzales
04-07-2011, 12:38 PM
Is Nortons or Mcafee on this? Both can cause that error

Empathy.
04-07-2011, 12:44 PM
Ehh, not related to the first post, but my Windows has updated the past 3days, :/.. Installed all possible updates I had for every day, yet still updates and installs more :(

Cicero
04-07-2011, 03:39 PM
Thanks lads, tried all of the bove to no avail.
No Speed I do not have Norton or McAfee.

It was suggested by microsoft that by go to control panel and find repair so as to be able to download updates, it ran for a while and said all was fixed, so tried again, and again to no avail.

Speedy Gonzales
04-07-2011, 03:42 PM
Some people have fixed this error by deleting the folders in C:\windows\softwaredistribution folder. Then trying again. It should recreate the folders that are there

Cicero
04-07-2011, 04:19 PM
Some people have fixed this error by deleting the folders in C:\windows\softwaredistribution folder. Then trying again. It should recreate the folders that are there

Tried that and still no luck.

Cicero
05-07-2011, 06:13 PM
Can we assume this is a problem with no answer

wainuitech
05-07-2011, 07:40 PM
Error 80004005 is a generic error code, so it could be any number of causes, its about as useful as t1ts on a bull :D.

Have you tried taking note of the KB numbers, when manually doing a windows update, manually downloading them, then right click run as administrator?

Also make sure the time and date / Year and regional settings are correct - a few times I had problems with windows updates, and the damn month was out, I was ahead of myself by one month in the system clock, so it was trying to authenticate for a time/day/month that had not yet arrived :badpc:

Speedy Gonzales
05-07-2011, 08:06 PM
What version of windows is it?? Win 7? XP?

Cicero
05-07-2011, 11:40 PM
Everything looks to be in order Wai.

Win 7 pro Speed.

wainuitech
06-07-2011, 04:16 PM
Have you tried the following:


Disable all protection, antivirus, anti-malware etc
Manually downloading one at a time and installing.
Click start, look at the shutdown button - does it say updates need to be installed ?( words to that effect)

Cicero
06-07-2011, 06:50 PM
Have you tried the following:


Disable all protection, antivirus, anti-malware etc
Manually downloading one at a time and installing.
Click start, look at the shutdown button - does it say updates need to be installed ?( words to that effect)


Click start button, nothing showing re updates.

Tried the rest but just the same.

Did I mention the one that wont load is 73-892 mb?

Snorkbox
06-07-2011, 07:07 PM
So is it 73 Mb or 892Mb or somewhere in between?

And did you download it manually? If so then how big is the file update?

Cicero
06-07-2011, 07:12 PM
So is it 73 Mb or 892Mb or somewhere in between?

And did you download it manually? If so then how big is the file update?

Ah sorry about that, the big file is 892mb

wainuitech
06-07-2011, 07:13 PM
Click start button, nothing showing re updates.

Tried the rest but just the same.

Did I mention the one that wont load is 73-892 mb? What is it ?? From its size I'd say its a service pack of some kind.

If so its easier to manually download it and install that way.

Oh! =- No you didn't mention it previously :p

Snorkbox
06-07-2011, 07:28 PM
Ah sorry about that, the big file is 892mb

So the name of the update file you downloaded is?

And where did you put it?

Right click on the manually downloaded file and check properties.

Cicero
06-07-2011, 07:34 PM
So the name of the update file you downloaded is?

And where did you put it?

Right click on the manually downloaded file and check properties.

If I had manually downloaded file would I not have solved problem

I don't know how to do a manual download!

Snorkbox
06-07-2011, 08:07 PM
If I had manually downloaded file would I not have solved problem

I don't know how to do a manual download!

But you had already said that you followed Wainuis instuctions hence my questions. Going back through it my guess is that it will be Windows 7 SP1 and it's only a guess.

Win7 32 bit or Win7 64 bit?

Manually download the correct version for your O/S from here:-

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=5842

If 64 bit then use the second to last link. If 32 bit then use the last link. Or you could download an ISO and burn to DVD which is what I did so I can pass it on.

wainuitech
06-07-2011, 08:16 PM
I'll try and give instructions on manually updating -- Click Start, type in Update, click Windows updates from the result - when it opens, click on check for updates (top left) thats if its not already showing.

(I'm having to use optional updates in the attachment, but its the same thing) ---- Click on the update - then on the far right, click on More Information - that should open a window, and there will be a full description of the update, and a download link.

There may be several options for it, depending on what it is.

If in doubt, look for the KB number - post back what it is.

For example W7 SP1 is KB976932

Snorkbox
06-07-2011, 08:21 PM
Whoops. I forgot to add run the resultant file downloaded in my post # 20 too! If he tries my way.

wainuitech
06-07-2011, 08:30 PM
Whoops. I forgot to add run the resultant file downloaded in my post # 20 too! If he tries my way.

Its gotta be a service pack of some kind, either W7 or Office 2010 SP1 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2460049) KB2460049-- but yeah need to run the download afterwards.:thumbs:

Snorkbox
06-07-2011, 08:41 PM
Its gotta be a service pack of some kind, either W7 or Office 2010 SP1 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2460049) KB2460049-- but yeah need to run the download afterwards.:thumbs:

And make sure you know where you downloaded said file so you can run it as well. :)

I did not think Office 2010 SP1 was being pushed yet but it could be.

Cicero
07-07-2011, 01:51 PM
And make sure you know where you downloaded said file so you can run it as well. :)

I did not think Office 2010 SP1 was being pushed yet but it could be.

Downloaded from there, but got error when trying to run it?

wainuitech
07-07-2011, 03:55 PM
What was/is the install - a service pack ?

Was it the same error number 80004005 ?

Cicero
07-07-2011, 04:07 PM
What was/is the install - a service pack ?

Was it the same error number 80004005 ?

Windows7 Service Pack for 64- systems KB 976932 73.6- 892.6

Sorry didn't take note of error #

wainuitech
07-07-2011, 04:35 PM
Long shot - click start, type in reli Open View reliability history, where the update has failed there will be a red circle with a X or some other symbol, click it, the result will show below, look to see if theres a technical reason, or some other message - if so what does it say.

There is one other thing that may (or may not) work -- click start, type in CMD right click run as administrator type in net user administrator /active:yes
Copy or move the SP you downloaded to the main C drive.

reboot, this time select the administrator account, go to the C drive and try installing the SP again, there "may" be some sort of permission problem, using the "real" admin account may let it install.

No idea if it will work or not. To disable the Admin account if you want, type in the same command but this time net user administrator /active:No

Cicero
08-07-2011, 09:57 AM
This till I sort out this last lot of instructions

Installation Failure: Windows failed to install the following update with error 0x80004005: Windows 7 Service Pack 1 for x64-based Systems (KB976932).

Cicero
08-07-2011, 10:12 AM
Tried net user thing, but all I get is a return to original command prompt.

wainuitech
08-07-2011, 10:17 AM
if it fails under the Administrator account, have a look at the following article - NO idea if it will work in your case, but since the error message is generic it could be anything stopping it. The Article (http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itproinstall/thread/3a2e8c69-ec05-43d9-9ae4-836630b55f82/) scroll down to the user Zeev.Bain


Navigate to C:\Windows\servicing\sqm.

Right click and choose Properties.

Choose the security TAB.

Highlight System and click on edit.

Check Allow Full control and click OK.

Do the same for the Administrator.

Restart the computer.

I ran the normal Update and it worked. Good Luck.

Cicero
09-07-2011, 12:09 PM
if it fails under the Administrator account, have a look at the following article - NO idea if it will work in your case, but since the error message is generic it could be anything stopping it. The Article (http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itproinstall/thread/3a2e8c69-ec05-43d9-9ae4-836630b55f82/) scroll down to the user Zeev.Bain

Thanks Wai, do you mind if we have a rest from this, it's giving me a headache.

Will resume when rested.

Do happen to know how to deactivate the download facility from I/E.

It keeps getting what I want to download wrong, and that is giving me another headache.