PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ever come across this XP startup error?



Speedy Gonzales
30-06-2011, 07:28 PM
I've got a desktop here (not mine), and its started to bring up this error recently, once it boots into windows.

One of the files containing the system's Registry data had to be recovered by use of a log or alternate copy. The recovery was successful.

I've scanned it for errors, malware, defragged it. Thats fine. I've checked a few sites, via Google, and some say its a memory prob. So, I'm testing the ram now with memtest.

And some sites, say it maybe a corrupt profile. Or a driver (AFAIK, noone has installed anything else (driver or hardware). Since it was here last time. And to do a sfc / scannow on it ( havent done this yet). According to one site, this hdd is / or was also affected by a firmware bug (ST3160815AS). I'm trying to find out WHAT firmware was affected now.

Earlier , I managed to get it back online (no sites would load at all). So any ideas, WHAT the prob maybe ??

jareemon
30-06-2011, 08:51 PM
I'd guess firmware bug. Just a guess though :p

:pf1mobmini:

Speedy Gonzales
30-06-2011, 08:54 PM
Possible. Just have to find out where the update is !

wainuitech
30-06-2011, 10:31 PM
One of the files containing the system's Registry data had to be recovered ----- Seen that part a few times, cant remember the complete rest apart from the fact it did say it had used a backup, and it was successful.

Normally to do with some sort of reg corruption. Not any hardware/firmware upgrades.

Generally though there are other problems as well.

linw
30-06-2011, 10:35 PM
I'd try a system restore but you don't do them!

Paul.Cov
01-07-2011, 06:45 AM
That drive code is somewhat reminiscent of the self bricking Seagates from a couple of years ago. If it is that model it shouldn't have any bearing on the existing problem, coz there'd be no data visible at all.

wainuitech
01-07-2011, 08:03 AM
A List of the drives affected by the 7200.11 firmware bug is Listed here (http://news.cnet.com/seagate-fixes-7200.11-drives-except-when-it-doesnt/).

SolMiester
01-07-2011, 08:33 AM
Registry recovery is probably due to ungraceful shutdown and last known good config files would of been used...This would lead to believe there was a power cut, or the system didnt write completely to disk on last shutdown.
I guess it could be a firmware bug or Memory or Disk error.

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2011, 10:52 AM
I think something is borked. Went to use Javara (to remove old versions of Java) last night. It crashed with a 0x0000008E stop error. Which according to some sites, maybe caused by a damaged hdd.

And after I rebooted I ran bluescreenview, and saw some strange filenames (one was called 2 that was it), and about 10 files with strange characters (mostly boxes) with nothing else (no date / or anything else)

So, I may try another hdd. Told the person the PSU may need replacing too (a 350W). I also noticed the Nvidia videocard (256 mb) I think it is. Its got a fan but its dead (doesnt spin). Probably have to replace that too. Sooner or later. Uninstalled Itunes, (because it said it was missing registry entries - something to do with the burning / ripping I think). Then reinstalled it, it said the same thing. So, I gave up..

Agent_24
01-07-2011, 03:30 PM
I reinstalled Windows 98 on a friend's PC once, and after installation I kept getting that error message and a truckload of problems.

Turned out one of the memory sticks was faulty.

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2011, 03:54 PM
I tested the ram for about 2 hrs, it passed. Could have done it overnight.

Couldnt be bothered :p Cant try the ram in these, since the mobo supports DDR 2 400 / 533. Not DDR 2 800. I'm going to install it on a new hdd tomorrow. And see how it goes. They'll have to get another PSU sometime. The one in this will probably die soon

Agent_24
01-07-2011, 04:19 PM
What is the PSU? is it full of junky capacitors? If so, that could be the problem.

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2011, 04:39 PM
Umm its a 350W Hyena lol. So, wouldnt be surprised if thats one of the causes. Told the person that'll have to be replaced too sometime

Agent_24
01-07-2011, 04:46 PM
Yeah I wouldn't be surprised either. Test the machine with a PSU that you know works.

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2011, 04:47 PM
If I had a spare one, I would.

8ftmetalhaed
01-07-2011, 05:47 PM
I've seen that on a couple of uni machines, I think generally it's bad ram or something.
Usually the system works but just performs terribly or crashes and hangs alot.

Agent_24
01-07-2011, 05:50 PM
Crap Hyena (or any other bad brand) PSUs with dead capacitors definitely cause problems. A friend had one that was so bad the PC would turn on but wouldn't POST.

After replacing the Hyena (in which almost all the filtering capacitors had died) the thing worked perfectly.

Before it completely died it was running incredibly slowly too.


Most cheap PSUs will work fine with new capacitors, and on the Hyenas it's probably OK. The build quality isn't nearly as bad as some.

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2011, 06:20 PM
Well told her the PSU needs to be replaced sooner or later. Shes got another hdd. Anyone know if you can get fans for videocards? This card has a fan but its dead as. Doesnt look like its caused probs (like when playing games / it doesnt freeze tho). Its got a 2 pin connector to a header on the card

Agent_24
01-07-2011, 06:32 PM
Yes, best place is probably eBay, I bought a couple there once, for a GeForce 7300 and GeForce 4 MX

You need to take a look at the original fan, measure the screw spacing etc, they have generic descriptions, with just mounting hole width last time I saw.

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2011, 06:43 PM
Hmm ok, well this is the card. An ASUS EN7300GS/HTD/256M/A. I'll remove it tomorrow and have a look.

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2011, 07:19 PM
Hmm this is the fan

http://cgi.ebay.com/37mm-Fan-Video-VGA-Card-26mm-4008M12F-005-/120738057885

Thats exactly what it says on the back of this fan

Agent_24
01-07-2011, 07:33 PM
That one should work just fine then

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2011, 07:43 PM
Yup, too bad I have no way of paying for it. And I'm not on Ebay

Agent_24
01-07-2011, 07:47 PM
Maybe the owner of the computer can?

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2011, 09:11 PM
Think I'll remove it for. It was a bit loose. It hasnt fried yet, and has probably been dead for over 6 + mths. I'll ask the owner anyway. And see if she's on Ebay / uses Paypal