PDA

View Full Version : NETCOMM NB6PLUS4Wn



LiquidSolidity
29-06-2011, 10:20 AM
I need a new wireless router and am going to take Chillingsilence's advice and buy the NETCOMM NB6PLUS4Wn. But before I do, is this still one of the best general purpose modems around? It's been out a while now and I thought perhaps something better might have come out. Thanks!

Chilling_Silence
29-06-2011, 11:04 AM
Yeah it still pretty much is :D

You could go with something like a Draytek DV-120 in PPPoA -> PPPoE Passthru mode to a WRT54GL running Tomato or Gargoyle, but that's more for the 'geeks' among us. For the average home or small office, the NB6Plus4Wn still seems to take the cake :)

wratterus
29-06-2011, 11:26 AM
Mine still goes great. Some muppet dropped it and all the casing broke, but taped it up and it still goes mint! :punk

CliveM
29-06-2011, 11:29 AM
I am using one on Chills recommendation had it for a few months now and cannot think of a single problem with it. A great easy to use router for home/small business use.

John H
29-06-2011, 12:31 PM
I am using one on Chills recommendation had it for a few months now and cannot think of a single problem with it. A great easy to use router for home/small business use.

What Clive said! Thanks to Chill.

LiquidSolidity
29-06-2011, 12:46 PM
Ok thanks guys, going to order one now from PB Technologies, now :)

Chilling_Silence
29-06-2011, 02:28 PM
Mine still goes great. Some muppet dropped it and all the casing broke, but taped it up and it still goes mint! :punk

Yeah I was at a small business last night that I used to regularly do IT for (Unfortunately I've kinda done myself outta a job, things 'just work' without interference mostly now), and they were plugging something into the router a short while back, dropped it, the front / back / sides and lid all now come completely off, but it *still* works.
It still ticks over nicely, they've just kind of set it up on a bench and don't touch it, the sides / top kind of just sit there not doing much, not held in place by anything, but the thing still carries on going :D Awesome stuff I thought, well done to Netcomm!

Empathy.
29-06-2011, 03:25 PM
I should consider getting this sometime, one of those superhero modems seem nice :p Especially with a tyrant of a brother and an evil cat around

Morgenmuffel
29-06-2011, 05:06 PM
Does it support IPV6 yet, i remember they were going to support it with an update (a year or 2 ago), and I have the 3.014k firmware, but i can't see any mention of IPV6.

And yep it runs perfectly for me and has done ever since it was taken out of the box

Chilling_Silence
29-06-2011, 05:16 PM
Yeah:
http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=116713

Anybody keen to get in touch with Netcomm (They have a freephone 0800 somewhere on their site I think?) and see what the status is of IPv6 support? That'd be an awesome future-proofing upgrade for the device!!

TeejayR
29-06-2011, 06:58 PM
These (http://einfo.co.nz/shop/dynalink-adsl211n-wless-mdm-rtr-p-21360.html?osCsid=4d287feb5be8a2a2b33b3d6d9559edc6 ) guys any good to deal with - the price seems really good

Morgenmuffel
29-06-2011, 07:40 PM
Yeah:
http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=116713

Anybody keen to get in touch with Netcomm (They have a freephone 0800 somewhere on their site I think?) and see what the status is of IPv6 support? That'd be an awesome future-proofing upgrade for the device!!

I had asked around elsewhere but never got anywhere

http://www.netcomm.com.au/press-releases/netcomm-limited-releases-ipv6-capable-devices-to-future-proof-customers

The above press release is fairly ancient, as i'm sure it was of the factors for me buying that particular router. But they are apparently hardware capable.

Is there a way to test your router to see if it is IPV6 capable?

and don't give me a test website as they are useless as orcon is ipv4 only

EFFIGY
30-06-2011, 11:45 AM
I love mine, it handled a full change over to Vodafone without a blink. The Sure signal connected seamlessly and the range extender connected perfectly...it rocks. Oh and their phone support people are fantastic.
Available here http://www.alphacity.co.nz/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=228_229&products_id=80810

wratterus
30-06-2011, 01:00 PM
These (http://einfo.co.nz/shop/dynalink-adsl211n-wless-mdm-rtr-p-21360.html?osCsid=4d287feb5be8a2a2b33b3d6d9559edc6 ) guys any good to deal with - the price seems really good

They are rubbish.

They are the only store on the GP online retailers guide (http://www.gpforums.co.nz/thread/297771/?s=) to get 1 star.

LiquidSolidity
30-06-2011, 03:58 PM
Ordered from Ascent yesterday afternoon and my new Netcomm modem was on my door step at 10am this morning. This is great service considering our street up in the Christchurch hills is hard to get to now due to the earthquake.

The installation process took about 5 minutes and it has been up and running now for several hours with no reboots. Wireless range seems very good too. Everything is better than it was on my telecom Thomson router, including speed. My Thomson TG585 would only stay connected for about 2 hours and then it would take about 2-3 minutes to reboot and find a connection again.

When I originally rang telecom about this problem they said the problem wasn't the modem nor was it at their end - it was at my end. They told me that a wireless phone in the house was probably causing the reboots. In actual fact it was probably their supplied router that was causing the reboots.

All fixed now due to Chilling_Silence's good advice

TeejayR
30-06-2011, 05:55 PM
They are rubbish.

They are the only store on the GP online retailers guide (http://www.gpforums.co.nz/thread/297771/?s=) to get 1 star.

Cheers - thought it was to good to be true

Oh well it's back to price spy then

Trev

wratterus
30-06-2011, 05:58 PM
Cheers - thought it was to good to be true

Oh well it's back to price spy then

Trev

Just get it from PBTech or Ascent.