PDA

View Full Version : Telecom connections failing to load www.badcaps.net?



Agent_24
26-06-2011, 12:57 PM
Can't access http://www.badcaps.net/ on my Telecom ADSL, what about anyone else?

Snorkbox
26-06-2011, 12:59 PM
I can load the page. Telecom IE9

johcar
26-06-2011, 01:03 PM
None of my installed browsers get me to that site (Telecom connection). Nor does my Nexus One on XT.

The Error Guy
26-06-2011, 01:04 PM
Hmm, could be the DNS, Im on a mates Telecom and that gets ERR 137 Name resolution failed. On orcon this site http://www.activefeetpodiatry.co.nz/ got Err 137. On Telecom is doesnt get an error but it wont load the site, chrome recommends a .com TLD instead of .co.nz

Not sure whats going on

Snorkbox
26-06-2011, 01:04 PM
http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://www.badcaps.net/

Agent_24
26-06-2011, 01:08 PM
Yeah was pretty sure the site was up as I got an email notification about a new post there 10 minutes ago

Snorkbox
26-06-2011, 01:14 PM
I just booted into WinXP and used firefox 5.

badcaps loads OK with that too.

Agent_24
26-06-2011, 01:21 PM
You must be the lucky one! Everyone else with Telecom seems to have issues with it

GameJunkie
26-06-2011, 01:52 PM
sever not found

telecom
FF5, chrome 13.whatever,IE9 cannot display webpage

Snorkbox
26-06-2011, 02:07 PM
I have no idea why it works here and not elsewhere.

Just deleted the cache and the page still loads fine.

Bobh
26-06-2011, 02:23 PM
Loads fine here. IE9 via Actrix.

Agent_24
26-06-2011, 02:35 PM
I called Telecom about it and have been put on a 1hr queue and they'll call me back, apparently...

catspyjamas
26-06-2011, 02:39 PM
FF5 and Telecom - won't load for me either. I'd say if Telecom have a 1hr queue they've got issues today. (Though this is the first website I've not been able to load and I've been mucking about on the net most of today).

paulw
26-06-2011, 03:08 PM
Ok here with Orcon and Opera

johcar
26-06-2011, 03:13 PM
As another example, how about the NZ Navy site: http://www.navy.mil.nz/

I can't connect: "Directory Listing Denied. This Virtual Directory does not allow contents to be listed."

Snorkbox
26-06-2011, 03:23 PM
I get a 403 Forbidden on that one.

sahilcc7
26-06-2011, 03:47 PM
Works on telecom here...

Agent_24
26-06-2011, 03:47 PM
Telecom called back, said it's an ongoing problem with their DNS and any site which uses the domain servers NS1.MYDOMAIN.COM through NS4.MYDOMAIN.COM

They don't know when it will be fixed but it should be OK within a week.

Using Google's DNS for example works OK though and lets me load the website


No idea why it works for some people on Telecom and not others though.

paulw
26-06-2011, 08:12 PM
As another example, how about the NZ Navy site: http://www.navy.mil.nz/

I can't connect: "Directory Listing Denied. This Virtual Directory does not allow contents to be listed."

Same on Orcon..

Bobh
26-06-2011, 09:41 PM
As another example, how about the NZ Navy site: http://www.navy.mil.nz/

I can't connect: "Directory Listing Denied. This Virtual Directory does not allow contents to be listed."

I get a forbidden 403 also but if you change it to http://www.army.mil.nz it does load in.

Empathy.
27-06-2011, 03:03 PM
I called Telecom about it and have been put on a 1hr queue and they'll call me back, apparently...

Good luck, I hate trying to mess with any customer services desks.. The amount of people who just plain shouldn't be there, and bad experiences in the past, if somethings goes wrong, I first call CS :cool:

Only use the actual helpdesk as the final solution, which so far, has been twice, with Telecom, in around about 8months :p

GameJunkie
27-06-2011, 05:53 PM
still not loading for me

Agent_24
27-06-2011, 06:03 PM
still not loading for me

Well they did say it might take a week or so to fix... if you want to load the site switch your DNS servers to something else, Google's ones work fine (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4)