PDA

View Full Version : Nod 32 version 5?



apsattv
16-06-2011, 06:26 AM
Is anyone using NOD32 version 5 yet?

paulw
16-06-2011, 09:29 AM
After the problems I had at home after upgrading to R4 not likely in the short term..

inphinity
16-06-2011, 09:46 AM
Have the RC of SmartSecurity on a VM in our testbed as of about 9pm yesterday, looks a little nicer and seems to be using slightly less resources than 4. Not putting it on any production gear till it's final release version.

wainuitech
16-06-2011, 09:56 AM
Been using SmartSecurity on one of my workshop PC's for a couple of weeks now, after the resellers (chillisoft) asked me if I had tried it yet.

When I change over to all the PC's here, when its final, think I'll uninstall the current versions first.

Just noticed its changed to Release Candidate from beta.

@ Chill:
I think it came out early May.

So far :thumbs: No problems what so ever, and the PC had no noticeable speed decrease from having no AV at all.

Edited: noticed it goes right back to Windows 2000 as well.

Operating Systems
Microsoft Windows 2000
Microsoft Windows XP
Microsoft Windows Vista
Microsoft Windows 7
Microsoft Windows Home Server

Chilling_Silence
16-06-2011, 10:08 AM
oooh shiney! No, I'm not yet, but I will be soon :D

When did this come out?!

wainuitech
16-06-2011, 01:37 PM
Whats that about following ones own advise :) :rolleyes:

DONT upgrade from the beta to the RC version, it screws up windows updates.

Completely uninstall The beta, THEN install RC, same could go from RC-Final, or version 4 - final.

sarel
16-06-2011, 01:59 PM
They usually advise of any change that I need to do by email so I will wait until then. Did not have the problems you talked about before WT when I updated last time.

sarel

wainuitech
16-06-2011, 02:51 PM
They usually advise of any change that I need to do by email so I will wait until then. Did not have the problems you talked about before WT when I updated last time.

sarel Yeah, but its currently going from Beta to RC, so its still not 100% finalized.

wratterus
16-06-2011, 04:28 PM
I think the RC is fully out now, it seemed to be last night when I checked anyway. I really like it so far.

Zippity
16-06-2011, 05:01 PM
Nod 32 sux :( :(

wainuitech
16-06-2011, 05:05 PM
Just found a "bug" in the RC.

On two seperate computers now, one running ESS, and the other the Antivirus, both have stopped windows updates from downloading.

Uninstall the RC, and run with No AV, or put back version 4 and updates run fine.

wratterus
16-06-2011, 05:10 PM
Nod 32 sux :( :(

Elaborate. There is nothing to be gained from making a statement like that without some reasons.

I personally wouldn't touch any other paid AV, I love it.


Just found a "bug" in the RC.

On two seperate computers now, one running ESS, and the other the Antivirus, both have stopped windows updates from downloading.

Uninstall the RC, and run with No AV, or put back version 4 and updates run fine.

My notebook at home with the beta failed to install a bunch of updates, this may have been what was causing it. Will check later on.

goodiesguy
16-06-2011, 05:13 PM
Nod 32 sux :( :(

:eek:

So are you one of those idiots who uses Nortons?:stare:

wainuitech
16-06-2011, 05:15 PM
I had to completely remove the program, disabling it didn't help.

Have sent a bug report to Eset, so wratterus, if your updates work ok after removing Nod, may pay to send one as well.


Nod 32 sux Yeah right -explain this then, why did three other AV's miss trojans that Nod32 found ???

The other Av's were Norton, Trend and Avast.

Care to explain ???????

wratterus
16-06-2011, 05:25 PM
Have sent a bug report to Eset, so wratterus, if your updates work ok after removing Nod, may pay to send one as well.

Have just remoted into my notebook, removed Nod beta and rebooted, updates then installed fine. have sent a report. :cool:

The ones that failed for me were...

KB2536275
KB2503665
KB2476490
KB2544893
KB2536276


And come on zippity...fess up.

here is the eset press release for the RC. maybe a bit premature. :lol:
http://www.eset.com/about/press/articles/article/eset-announces-rc-of-eset-smart-security-5-and-eset-nod32-antivirus-5/

Pato
16-06-2011, 05:42 PM
Nod 32 sux :( :(That statement is helpful. What do you not like about Nod32. I have been using it for years and am very happy with it.

wainuitech
16-06-2011, 05:44 PM
The ones that failed for me were...

KB2536275
KB2503665
KB2476490
KB2544893
KB2536276


Have just remoted into my notebook, Well La-De-Da :p:lol::nerd: Aint remote "fun" -- hope no one was at home using it.

Snap !! Same ones. I included the KB numbers in the report, along with the XP ones:

KB951978
KB971029
KB2345886
KB2476490

They'll sort it, this is what Beta/RC testing is for :)

wratterus
16-06-2011, 05:56 PM
They'll sort it, this is what Beta/RC testing is for :)

Exactly. :thumbs:

Zippity
16-06-2011, 05:56 PM
It doesn't matter what I like or dislike with NOD32 - everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

I get sick and tired of the sanctimonious posters here who profer their opinions on any and all programmes. I just thought it was time that I posted a negative reply to get a few of your backs up :)

And no, I do not have Nortons :)

gary67
16-06-2011, 05:58 PM
It doesn't matter what I like or dislike with NOD32 - everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

I get sick and tired of the sanctimonious posters here who profer their opinions on any and all programmes. I just thought it was time that I posted a negative reply to get a few of your backs up :)

And no, I do not have Nortons :)

Oh well I guess every forum has to have a clown

wainuitech
16-06-2011, 06:03 PM
It doesn't matter what I like or dislike with NOD32 - everyone is entitled to their own opinion

Thats your thoughts /opinion and so be it, every ones entitled, but how about honestly answering the question I put:

explain this then, why did three other AV's miss trojans that Nod32 found ???
The other Av's were Norton, Trend and Avast

And in your Opinion what is the best and why?

Old story -- make a comment can you back it up - or is it all hot air ?

wratterus
16-06-2011, 06:25 PM
Yeah damn straight. If you were looking at buying a car, you'd found a Corolla you like and you'd shown your husband, then he said "That car sucks", surely you would want to know why.

Making a statement like "Nod32 sucks" and not backing it up with any evidence or reason whatsoever is just bull, joking or not.

I normally wouldn't care, but I wouldn't want someone to read your ramblings and not buy Nod because of something you said.

wratterus
17-06-2011, 02:56 PM
Just found another bug with the RC. for some crazy reason I couldn't browse into modems and routers yesterday and today. Got access denied, like the browser was trying to force a password. Double and triple checked, tried IE, same thing. Removed Nod RC, problem gone. I have no idea at all how Nod managed to do that... back to v4. :p

wainuitech
17-06-2011, 03:30 PM
Just tried mine, straight into the Telstra modem, as well as the router,once I could remember the password :o

By any chance is the password box like the one in the attachment ? If so go into the settings, and disable parental control.

wratterus
17-06-2011, 03:44 PM
Nope, nothing like that. I'll explain in a little more detail. :p

On the routers that I had already browsed into previous to installing the RC, I was able to get into those, but I didn't have to enter the username and password, even though I cleared out the saved password details from firefox.


I wasn't able to log into a new router I was trying to configure - it was like some incorrect router login details were being forced to be used, but there was no way to change those details.

This was with a bunch of different IP addresses and ranges too. Removed Nod RC and it suddenly started working again.

Real odd.

sroby
17-06-2011, 04:02 PM
.... but how about honestly answering the question I put:
"explain this then, why did three other AV's miss trojans that Nod32 found ???"



NOD32 is no-where near being the wonder scanner implied by many
Many of our customers use it, yet it fails to pickup malware that free scanners easily detect. How can I justify telling customers to pay for NOD over the free AV's. I am frequently cleaning up infected PC's that have up NOD32 installed & up to date.
Saying NOD doesnt detect spyware & use a 2nd scanner for spyware is no excuse. It is sold as being AV + antispyware.

Good points: its stable, easy to setup/remove, doesnt bog down lower spec PC's, very easy to install on servers/domains, the remote admin actually works very well.

All that said, no AV will protect from user stupidity.

wainuitech
17-06-2011, 04:03 PM
Might be reading that wrong, but were the IP address ranges different, for example on your router they may be 192.168.1.1 where as the others may be 192.168.0. ? etc.

I know I couldn't connect top one server till I entered in the full range to allow - eg:192.168.1.1 to 192.168.254.
On my laptop its got rtanges for every thing :)

Other wise send in a bug report.

wratterus
17-06-2011, 04:14 PM
@ sroby - who's to say Norton, for example, is any better? Just today NOD32 removed one of those annoying 'you have all these virus on your drive hard, buy me for a million yen and I will fix you' bits of malware. I've seen norton many times not even know that kind of stuff is on the Pc See the attached pics...


Wainui - this was the standard AV, not Smart Security.

wainuitech
17-06-2011, 04:27 PM
Wainui - this was the standard AV, not Smart Security.
Well that stuffed that idea then :p

What you mentioned re Scoby -- Can confirm that, NO antivirus is perfect, and thats why so many people get infections.

Its really a case of what will protect you more. I can honestly say that over the last 8 years I have been dealing with Nod32, only twice have I seen a pc with infections.

You have to have seperate antimalware these days, its damn stupid to depend on one product. As for Norton -- well its NO WHERE as good as all teh reports and lab tests state.

Scoby:
All that said, no AV will protect from user stupidity. Very true :thumbs:


It is sold as being AV + antispyware.
So is every other AV producty these days.

Chilling_Silence
17-06-2011, 04:39 PM
I've managed to find me a copy of XP Home AntiSpyware 2012. These new versions are very clever, they don't hide in the Startup, but they make themselves the 'launcher' for .exe files, and specifically for Internet Explorer.

Means that you kill it off, and it comes right back again.

If I wanted to submit that to eset, where would be the best place? Right now, nothing picks this up. Not even Malwarebytes, Spybot, McAfee or NOD32...

wratterus
17-06-2011, 04:51 PM
I've managed to find me a copy of XP Home AntiSpyware 2012. These new versions are very clever, they don't hide in the Startup, but they make themselves the 'launcher' for .exe files, and specifically for Internet Explorer.

Means that you kill it off, and it comes right back again.

If I wanted to submit that to eset, where would be the best place? Right now, nothing picks this up. Not even Malwarebytes, Spybot, McAfee or NOD32...

You need to scan the drive from another PC, then fix the .exe file association issues. I did one this morning and NOD grabbed it when I scanned over top of the drive.

I would post the log file, but I just removed the NOD RC I scanned with and the log files didn't get saved.

x:\documents and settings\administrator\local settings\application data\wky.exe (Trojan.FakeAlert) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

Is that the location?

Throwing that lot headlong into the registry then rebooting ought to fix the exe association issues assuming you're running 7 or vista.


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.EXE]
@="exefile"
"Content Type"="application/x-msdownload"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.EXE\PersistentHandler]
@="{098f2470-bae0-11cd-b579-08002b30bfeb}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile]
@="Application"
"EditFlags"=hex:38,07,00,00
"FriendlyTypeName"=hex(2):40,00,25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00, 6d,00,52,\
00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,00,5c,00,53,00,79,00,73,00 ,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,\
32,00,5c,00,73,00,68,00,65,00,6c,00,6c,00,33,00,32 ,00,2e,00,64,00,6c,00,6c,\
00,2c,00,2d,00,31,00,30,00,31,00,35,00,36,00,00,00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\DefaultIcon]
@="%1"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell\open]
"EditFlags"=hex:00,00,00,00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell\open\command]
@="\"%1\" %*"
"IsolatedCommand"="\"%1\" %*"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell\runas]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell\runas\command]
@="\"%1\" %*"
"IsolatedCommand"="\"%1\" %*"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shellex]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shellex\DropHandler]
@="{86C86720-42A0-1069-A2E8-08002B30309D}"

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.exe\UserChoice]

Chilling_Silence
17-06-2011, 05:20 PM
Yeah close but I also found that it hijacks the HKLM\Software\Clients\StartMenuInternet\IEXPLORE.E XE\shell\open\command

Updated my post here earlier today: http://www.c2s.co.nz/blog/?p=626

So you're saying NOD32 now picks it up? It didn't previously ... Granted it was a few weeks ago, and I scanned *from* the infected PC.

wainuitech
17-06-2011, 05:42 PM
Lots of these infections these days cant be removed if the PC is actually using the System.

I made the rescue CD that Nod allows you to do, you need the WAIK kit from MS installed first, this makes the WINPE bootable interface, then boot from that CD, it finds the majority of infections and allows you to then open windows normally and finish cleaning it out.

Chill -- to send a file to Eset Have a read (http://www.en.eset.ch/support/faq1.php?id=1110) :)