PDA

View Full Version : Lotus 97 to Open Office?

gradebdan
12-06-2011, 09:01 PM
Please do not laugh.
I have been using Lotus Smart Suite for many years
because it did everything I needed, till my son wanted to send
his CV to someone. Guess what, they couldn't open it.
I thought now is the time to change to Open Office.
All good. Transferred some files from Lotus 123 (SPREAD SHEET)
no problem. Wanted to transfer some old notes from Lotus Word Pro,
this appears as gibberish in Open Office. It seems that OO does not
recognise Word Pro but does recognise 123. Any comments appreciated.

Cato
12-06-2011, 09:31 PM
I'd go for LibreOffice (basically, OO under a new name)...

Or maybe even Lotus Symphony (free, and at the core it is basically OO), but it's still Lotus :D

mikebartnz
12-06-2011, 10:04 PM
I'd go for LibreOffice (basically, OO under a new name)...

Or maybe even Lotus Symphony (free, and at the core it is basically OO), but it's still Lotus :D
+1 for LO as it is far better at importing other file types.
As far as I know it hasn't got OO at its core. but does use the ODF file format.

You may need to export your old LSS files or save them in a different format from LSS.

wainuitech
12-06-2011, 10:31 PM
Sending them on LO Hmmmm (I wouldn't) -- What happens if the receiver doesn't have LO or open office, only MS office ,you would have to convert them to MS Word, lots of mucking about changing formats.

Suggestion: Send the document in PDF format --- install a PDF creator on the PC, something like Cute PDF (http://www.cutepdf.com/Products/CutePDF/writer.asp) - Open the Lotus Smart Suite as normal, hit print, and select the PDF creator instead of your normal printer, that will create a standard PDF file that many different readers can open.

Does Lotus Smart Suite actually have the option to save in PDF -- If it does, then you wont need the PDF creator.

Not every one uses or has Open Source Software like LibreOffice and Open office.