PDA

View Full Version : IPv6 day



nedkelly
08-06-2011, 11:30 AM
Seeing as it is (or will be) IPv6 day I started wondering if my AM300 supports IPv6.
Does anyone know?

Safari
08-06-2011, 11:35 AM
Really does not matter if it does or not if your ISP does not have IPv6 active.

nedkelly
08-06-2011, 11:37 AM
Im just thinking for when they do enable it

gary67
08-06-2011, 11:40 AM
I know my Linksys WAG310G does, there was a link on here a while ago where you could check

Speedy Gonzales
08-06-2011, 11:42 AM
See what this says. http://test-ipv6.com/

Even if the modem supports it, the ISP may not. This router supports IPv6 too, but Telstra doesnt

gary67
08-06-2011, 11:42 AM
Speedy beat me to the link

Renegade
08-06-2011, 01:44 PM
On Telstraclear ADSL, with FF/adblock+/noscript (temporarily allowed that page) I get:
No IPv6 address detected

In IE8
Your IPv6 address on the public Internet appears to be xxxx:0:4137:9e76:387e:172:86b6:xxxx
Your IPv6 service appears to be: Teredo

gary67
08-06-2011, 02:33 PM
Forgot to mention you need to turn ad blocking software off before running that test

Chilling_Silence
08-06-2011, 04:46 PM
No, the AM300 does not support IPv6.

Snorkbox
08-06-2011, 04:50 PM
Have a look at this and don't panic yet. :)

http://pcworld.co.nz/pcworld/pcw.nsf/feature/10-things-to-know-about-the-move-to-ipv6

somebody
08-06-2011, 05:17 PM
You could do IPv6 tunnelling (for free): http://gogonet.gogo6.com/

goodiesguy
08-06-2011, 05:47 PM
Does the thomson gateway TG585v7 support ipv6?

My results on the test site are:

10/10 for your IPv4 stability and readiness, when publishers offer both IPv4 and IPv6

0/10 for your IPv6 stability and readiness, when publishers are forced to go IPv6 only

wainuitech
08-06-2011, 06:33 PM
Lots of the ISP's in NZ cant handle or dont have in place IPV6, "yet".

They will be forced to turn it on, sooner than later other wise they will be in deep do-do.

"0/10 for your IPv6 stability and readiness"

I'm with telstra cable, and they get the same message/response. The ISP's will have to do accommodate it very soon.

CYaBro
08-06-2011, 06:53 PM
10/10 for me here. :D
Thanks UberGroup!

nedkelly
08-06-2011, 07:04 PM
Oh looking at Chilling's post looks like im going to need a new modem

Chilling_Silence
09-06-2011, 10:47 AM
Oh looking at Chilling's post looks like im going to need a new modem

When your ISP supports IPv6, then yes, you will, one day, not now ... ;)

Chilling_Silence
09-06-2011, 10:51 AM
10/10 for me here. :D
Thanks UberGroup!

Nice :D

If only we could get that here :p

I'm still yet to use any website via IPv6. I should really go through one day and prepare all mine for it too. It's worth "raising awareness" and starting to setup my own websites and the ones that I host to support it as well. I'm lazy though ...

Chilling_Silence
09-06-2011, 11:15 AM
ooOOooh turns out its dead easy to add IPv6 support with Dreamhost :D