PDA

View Full Version : Was $200 for a year old OCZSSD2-1VTX120G a good buy?



stone2
07-06-2011, 11:26 PM
See the title :)

Speedy Gonzales
07-06-2011, 11:28 PM
Sounds ok as long as it doesnt crash. Some OCZ SSD's are known to crash systems

stone2
07-06-2011, 11:31 PM
Thanks speedy :)

Deimos
08-06-2011, 12:32 AM
Yeah, I'm just discovering that now with my Vertex 3 ***

Blazing speed for a few hours then hang, BSOD :(

hopefully fixed it though with some minor tweaks...

stone2
09-06-2011, 07:53 AM
Hi Deimos, did you manage to get your Vetex 3 stable and what did you do?

Deimos
09-06-2011, 11:36 PM
My setup is a bit different from all the people complaining about lockups.

My SATA3 controller is a Marvell (using an Asus P6X58D Premium), I installed the drivers for my Marvell controller, rebooted, went in to the properties for it and unticked both tick boxes, rebooted, reticked the 2 boxes, rebooted again, havn't had a freeze since.

You also have to make sure the power saving setting to turn hard drives off is set to "never"

SolMiester
10-06-2011, 10:29 AM
My setup is a bit different from all the people complaining about lockups.

My SATA3 controller is a Marvell (using an Asus P6X58D Premium), I installed the drivers for my Marvell controller, rebooted, went in to the properties for it and unticked both tick boxes, rebooted, reticked the 2 boxes, rebooted again, havn't had a freeze since.

You also have to make sure the power saving setting to turn hard drives off is set to "never"

I believe the sandforce 2 ssd have issue coming out of sleep, however (touch wood), mine hasnt as yet!

Deimos
10-06-2011, 12:03 PM
Good to know but I don't really use sleep, it boots up so quick, don't really need sleep.

SolMiester
10-06-2011, 12:17 PM
Good to know but I don't really use sleep, it boots up so quick, don't really need sleep.

Yeah, understandable, however, because I have Raid Arrays also, mine isnt so fast to boot....

Deimos
10-06-2011, 01:12 PM
How long? I have a RAID 0 setup on my intel controller, my PC takes 35 seconds to boot in to Win 7 ult 64bit.

stone2
14-06-2011, 11:12 AM
Have installed windows 7 ultimate 64bit and is running great. It takes 57secs to boot. Is this speed ok for the ssd I'm using? I used 'Restart-Time.vbs'
p.s. I have six other HDD's in the system, I suppose they increase the time as well.