PDA

View Full Version : RAM Question



icow
06-06-2011, 08:10 PM
I currently have 2gb of 1333 ram. However I'm looking at going to 4gb.
How much of a performance increase would i see between 1333 and 1600?
Also is it better to have 1 stick of 4gb or 2 sticks of 2gb?

GameJunkie
06-06-2011, 08:39 PM
two sticks would allow dual channel, so would be better

jinja_thom
06-06-2011, 08:48 PM
If your Motherboard/CPU runs at 1333 then fitting 1600 ram wil make no difference to performance, I agree about the dual channel tho'

icow
06-06-2011, 08:59 PM
mobo can run up to 1600 i believe
so i would run the ram at 1600.

SolMiester
07-06-2011, 09:42 AM
Unless you are overclocking the faster memory wont be noticed...

wratterus
07-06-2011, 10:07 AM
Unless you are overclocking the faster memory wont be noticed...

x2, You won't notice. Just get whatever is cheapest. If you already had 1600 in then you would match the speed, but seeing you already have 133 there if you can buy a new stick of 1333 cheaper than 1600 then do that.

icow
10-06-2011, 10:43 PM
Is mixing brands ok? even if all the specs are the same?
and has anyone dealt with itexpress before?

hueybot3000
10-06-2011, 11:35 PM
If your not overclocking etc then brands dont matter so much. I havent even heard of itexpress, but ram is cheap so if its cheap with them buy it. As a rule I stick with who I know for more expensive gear but stuff like ram the cheapest will do

sahilcc7
11-06-2011, 12:03 AM
Check trademe. I got a 1gb stick for $10!

:pf1mobmini:

Growly
11-06-2011, 03:33 AM
It used to be the case that buying faster RAM and underclocking it allowed you to achieve tighter timings, which yielded performance improvements, although minimal. This (http://techreport.com/articles.x/15967/8) pretty much sums it up.