PDA

View Full Version : help with laptop

Lisa
06-06-2011, 04:25 PM
I'm new to this so please excuse if I leave things out or I can't explain it right.

I have a HP Compaq Presario C700 with a memory of 2GB. If you need more information please let me know where to find it. It's a bit on the slow side. I've done the normal virus checks and defrag etc but it's stilll slow. I use my laptop all day as I work from home on a remote desk top. I was wondering about adding more memory to try and make it alot faster but heard that the maximum I can add to this is 2GB. Is this right? If so is there any other way I can get this laptop faster. I bought it 3-4 years ago and it's been brilliant up until now.

bot
06-06-2011, 04:28 PM
Hello Lisa, and welcome to Press F1 :)

What's the CPU speed? To find this out, click the Start menu and right-click My Computer. You should be able to see a figure in GHz.

Lisa
06-06-2011, 04:32 PM
Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU T2390 @ 1.86GHz 1.87 GHz - hope that's right and thank you for the welcome.

kjaada
06-06-2011, 04:39 PM
Have you defragmented the HD?
Is there much free space on the HD ?
If you have been using it for 3 years there may be a fair bit of stuff you could get rid of.
If it was brilliant then it should at least be semi brilliant now.

jinja_thom
06-06-2011, 04:42 PM
If you are running your laptop at home as a terminal on a remote desk top situated in your office some distance away, the appearance of slowness is more likely due to your internet connection speed or the remote PC than the specification of the laptop.

If you run your laptop as a pc in it's own right is it slow?

Burnzee
06-06-2011, 04:50 PM
Hi Lisa