PDA

View Full Version : Web content filtering



QW.
23-05-2011, 03:18 PM
K9 web protection has been giving me nothing but problems for the last week. Is there a another free alternative to K9 web protection?

SolMiester
23-05-2011, 03:34 PM
opendns.com has content filtering....

nedkelly
23-05-2011, 06:12 PM
I use opendns and it works great, can be either set up on pc side or on router, and if you have a dynamic ip you just have a little app that you run to keep opendns upto date with current ip.

QW.
23-05-2011, 10:09 PM
So I can setup OpenDNS to filter content on my PC instead of the router?

nedkelly
23-05-2011, 10:19 PM
Yes, just set a static ip and point the dns servers at the ips given to you get opendns

QW.
23-05-2011, 10:30 PM
How do I set a static IP?

nedkelly
23-05-2011, 11:23 PM
depending on your operating system you need to find you network connections, then open properties, find tcp/ip (ipv4) or what ever your os says, click properties then click static ip and enter in the information and in the dns servers down the bottom enter the opendns dns server ips.

SolMiester
24-05-2011, 09:09 AM
OP, go to opendns.com, read the info and follow the instructions, you dont have to guess how to do it!

QW.
24-05-2011, 09:50 AM
I know that. I want to set it up so that it blocks content to this PC I am posting this on. Will it block just only my PC or the other PC in the house also.

SolMiester
24-05-2011, 10:39 AM
From my understanding, it is effective from the router so every PC

QW.
24-05-2011, 04:09 PM
Is there any free content control programs that I can download and install for free? Or is there a way to black all websites but only use those on the whitelist.

Snorkbox
24-05-2011, 04:33 PM
What is the problem you have with K9?

QW.
24-05-2011, 05:01 PM
K9 keeps crashing. I can't get online even if I restart K9. Only option that has worked is uninstall and reinstall K9. Will work fine for a few days then same problem again.