PDA

View Full Version : Avast AV startup problem



jupiter1
27-04-2011, 10:30 AM
I'm running avast5.1 (latest update) on a win2k system.

Avast automatically starts and puts an icon in the system tray when m/c is turned on and booted.

How can I prevent this from occurring.

There is no command for this in the startup folder in the documents and settings/users area.

Cheers,

I can suppress the sheilds from operating but am unable to prevent it loading at boot time.

inphinity
27-04-2011, 10:58 AM
Uninstall it? Heh. Otherwise there's probably a Service and/or a Run key entry for it.

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 11:33 AM
Uninstall it? Heh. Otherwise there's probably a Service and/or a Run key entry for it.

HI,
How and where do I find them and what do I do with them when I do find them please.

Cheers,

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 01:32 PM
Hi, I t appears that in CCCleaner on the "tools/startup" page there is an entry to stop this automatic startup at boot time.
Unfortunately it will not allow me to disable it.
I get an error msg ..."access denied"

Any thoughts from anyone ?
cheers,

Renegade
27-04-2011, 01:34 PM
If you just want an "on demand" scanner, use ClamWin. Some real-time scanners don't like being disabled.

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2011, 01:52 PM
There's no point having it. If you stop it from running. You may as well remove it

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 02:06 PM
Hi Speedy, yes, but avast slows everything up so much, even with the shields dis-abled.

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2011, 02:09 PM
Uninstall it then. How much ram is on it?

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 02:11 PM
Uninstall it then. How much ram is on it?

2 Gig DDR300

Oop's that's DDR400

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2011, 02:15 PM
Must be a few programs in startup if its slow. Whats the specs of the system?? What CPU is in it?

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 02:24 PM
Pentium P4-2.53: 2GigB DDR400 ram: 160Gig HDD
Radieon 9250pro vid
No other progys running in background

Very slow opening any Progy and slow opening things like word or excel sheets and slow saving them.

cheers,

Boot up takes twicew as long as well

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2011, 02:31 PM
Must be slow for a reason. Is the hdd IDE or SATA. If IDE, I would check and see if its running in PIO mode. In device manager.

Is it a desktop or laptop?

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 02:41 PM
Desktop

Doesn't appear to be in PIO

Cheers,

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2011, 02:43 PM
Did someone install the chipset drivers?? Whats the brand/model of the system / mobo?

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 02:51 PM
mobo=elite las8a2
bios= pheonix award v6.0pg
chip set=sis 648/sis 963

All mobo drivers installed

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2011, 03:01 PM
That maybe one reason why its slow, it uses a SIS chipset.

I had a SIS mobo a few yrs ago. And it took its time opening anything. It took at least 30 secs for anything to open. It lagged. In the end I biffed it

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 03:06 PM
I've been running this system for several years now.

This is a new occurance but unfortunately I didn't make a mental note of when it started so can not tie it back to any one item.

It is quite quite possibly due to one of the Avast auto up-dates that occur on a frequent basis but am not sure of this.

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2011, 03:19 PM
Well if you think Avast is the cause, uninstall it. Then you'll find out

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 03:21 PM
Someone in the Avast forum suggested that I delete any and all entries for avast in ZoneAlarm Program control and reboot then install ZA entries again.

I did this and my "gut feel" is that it is faster or at least back to the old speedyness (pardon the pun).

I will report back after a reasonable time for confirmation.
Cheers,

PS that is with all the shields running as well !

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2011, 03:34 PM
I would get rid of ZA, its crap. Should have said ZA was installed at the beginning of the post

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 03:41 PM
yes, sorry about that oversight.
What would you suggest as a replacement for ZA

Speedy Gonzales
27-04-2011, 03:42 PM
I wouldnt bother about a firewall. If its behind a router / and no file sharing programs are on it.

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 03:43 PM
yep, have a netcomm NB6plus4adsl2+ router for inet connection and home lan.

ruup
27-04-2011, 06:28 PM
Hi,
Which operating system are you using? You could try downloading a fresh copy of Avast 5 and then uninstall the old copy using revo uninstaller,then reinstall the fresh Avast copy and run it on a boot scan to get the all clear (will take a while).

revo : http://download.cnet.com/Revo-Uninstaller/3000-2096_4-10687648.html

Cheers

ruup

jupiter1
27-04-2011, 08:22 PM
Immediate gut feel is that it is running faster even with all shields running.

Boot is definitely faster (by stop watch).
Programs seem to load faster and word and excel sheets also seem to open and save faster.

I am wondering if one of the many and frequent Avast updates did something un-to-ward ?
Cheers,