PDA

View Full Version : Error message



lostsoul62
12-04-2011, 09:04 AM
I'm trying to install Quake 4 and I get an error message of 0x80040702 and I do a Google search and I can download all kinds of programs to fix this so they say but I'm not connected to the Internet because I have a game machine I don't want connected to the Internet. So any program you download will want to connect you to the Internet and we all know why. My question is how do I fix this problem?

Speedy Gonzales
12-04-2011, 09:18 AM
Looks like someone fixed it by cleaning the cd. It looks like it may mean a corrupt installshield file on the cd. If it keeps doing it, and if you've just brought it, take it back. And get another cd/dvd

lostsoul62
12-04-2011, 11:59 AM
No the CD is fine. It's mine which I have had for years and have loaded it many times.

Speedy Gonzales
12-04-2011, 12:48 PM
Dont know then. Ask whoever made quake

pctek
12-04-2011, 01:15 PM
I'm trying to install Quake 4 and I can download all kinds of programs to fix this

I doubt that.

Uninstall it. Go through the registry and remove all references to both raven and Quake.
Go through your files system and do the same.

Try iobituninstall if you don't want to do it manually.

Then reinstall the game.

Snorkbox
12-04-2011, 01:36 PM
@pctek

Is Iobit better than Revo?

Just curious.

pctek
12-04-2011, 02:35 PM
@pctek

Is Iobit better than Revo?

Just curious.

Seems to be. manual is best though.

Agent_24
12-04-2011, 08:09 PM
Nothing will ever beat manual as long as you know where to look and what you're looking for.

But most people don't