PDA

View Full Version : VGA Y cable



gary67
21-03-2011, 06:51 PM
Anyone used the above VGA Y cables before? Just wondering as need to connect another monitor to a computer that I can't add a graphics card to :thanks

The Error Guy
21-03-2011, 07:07 PM
Yes, I have used them... what about them?

gary67
21-03-2011, 07:11 PM
Do they work fine, thinking of getting one for SWMBO as she needs a second monitor now as she is testing a new system and needs to have both the old one and new one open at the same time

The Error Guy
21-03-2011, 07:58 PM
Well they do as well as expected. I mean, its just duplicating the display. ONE thing to be wary of, monitors should be the same resoultion, aspect ratio etc. since it is ONE signal you can't set multiple resolutions

CYaBro
21-03-2011, 08:33 PM
Since it is just a Y splitter cable both monitors will run at the same resolution and display the same thing (clone).
If you can't add another graphics card you can get USB-VGA adapters that will do pretty much the same thing and give you the option of running a second monitor as a second desktop.
That will cost more than a cable of course.

gary67
22-03-2011, 08:01 AM
Thanks CYaBro that's what I needed to know I want it to work as two separate monitors