PDA

View Full Version : Modem Problems



02-10-2001, 04:27 PM
Hiya,

I was wondering if anyone out there could help me with a modem problem.

I am trying to connect to internet, my modem clicks once in the tower and dies, sending me a message that there is no dial tone.

All lines connecting my phone line to the PC are fine.

Diagnostic checks through Windows says that the modem is working okay.

1) Is there another way to check that my modem is working okay?

2)Is there some internal switch that needs to be turned on/off?

This is not a new modem, its only just over a year old (MDP3858 PCI Modem Enumerator)
maybe it has just given up the ghost and needs to be replaced.

All comments greatfully accepted.

Thanks,

Aaron M

02-10-2001, 04:44 PM
Hi Aaron, take the plug out of the back of the modem and plug it into a phone, if you can hear dialtone on the phone and your modem cannot detect it then your modem is likely kaput. Regards PC

02-10-2001, 05:30 PM
My guess would be its set to the wrong country.

Have a look for the country settings for the modem. Possibly in the Control Panel. Or in the modem properties.

If it doesn't have NZ, set it to USA (what I use).

You could also try turning off dial tone detection by bringing up the modem properties and unchecking 'Wait for dial tone . . .' under the connection tab.

02-10-2001, 05:47 PM
Hi Aaron,
just a thought, I had this happen to me a few times... there's usually two sockets you can plug the line into in the back of your modem... try plugging it into the other one and giving that a go.