PDA

View Full Version : WDTV HD Live

nedkelly
17-03-2011, 06:56 PM
I am looking at maybe getting one of these units in the future.
Only problem is that my tv is not near an ethernet cable (or there is one and it was plastered over :mad::mad::mad:) can any one confirm which wireless adapters they have gotten to work?

The Error Guy
17-03-2011, 08:01 PM
Bridge a wireless router, or wait. In a few years they will probably have wireless built in.

or try one of theses (http://www.google.com/search?q=ethernet+over+power&hl=en&safe=off&prmd=ivns&source=univ&tbs=shop:1&tbo=u&ei=obGBTY6QDIaosAPq4cDqAQ&sa=X&oi=product_result_group&ct=image&resnum=1&ved=0CCcQzAMwAA&biw=1280&bih=699)

I have no personal experience with WD Live

nedkelly
17-03-2011, 08:36 PM
I totally forgot about ethernet over power

The Error Guy
18-03-2011, 07:53 AM
We all forget something. some of my forgets have had serious results :p

Reminds me of your sig :D

Chilling_Silence
18-03-2011, 07:58 AM
There's some specific Linksys and a few other ones that they list in the Manual.

Personally I have a WDTV Live and an ACRyan PlayOn media player, and I got the Wifi dongle for the PlayOn.
I'd go for the PlayOn over the WDTV, unless you specifically wanna get into custom firmware and doing funky things on your WDTV like having it run torrents for you etc

http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=DVAACR7305&name=AC-Ryan-Playon!HD-Mini-Full-HD-Network-Media-Playe
And this:
http://pbtech.co.nz/index.php?z=p&p=DVAACR7311&name=AC-Ryan-Playon-Wireless-N-300mbps-Wireless-Dongle-

nedkelly
18-03-2011, 08:24 AM
so the playon is better?

Chilling_Silence
18-03-2011, 11:05 AM
Hard to say if it's better, but I must say it's become my preferred device.

The ability to just hold the "Down" button and have it auto scroll down through my list of files / folders is a *definite* bonus!!

nedkelly
18-03-2011, 12:32 PM
Hey chill I see that pb just got the new Playon2

Chilling_Silence
18-03-2011, 01:13 PM