PDA

View Full Version : Ethernet Splitter??



stone2
13-03-2011, 05:03 AM
Hi all, here's my problem. I have a ethernet capable tv, an ethernet capable blu-ray player and a computer in my lounge. I have my router and another pc in the garage and I stream movies from garage pc to tv in lounge. Lounge pc and tv are connect via a switch which is next to pc in lounge and I have a ethenet cable running from switch to tv. What I want is to connect new blu-ray player to network as well without running another cable from the switch. Is there a way to connect both tv and blu-ray to network with the one ethernet cable? Prefrebly without buying another switch to put behind the tv.

Hope I made myself clear. :o
Cheers

Speedy Gonzales
13-03-2011, 08:43 AM
Probably not

Chilling_Silence
13-03-2011, 08:51 AM
You can, but you need a splitter at both ends of that cable, and then you have to run two cables into the Switch.

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-make-your-own-Ethernet-%22splitter%22/

Agent_24
13-03-2011, 12:42 PM
Or you can make a very basic Ethernet Hub, but performance will suck.

I like the idea Chilling posted, that could work pretty well actually.

SolMiester
13-03-2011, 12:46 PM
Probably not

Why do you post such naff comments, when you have no idea mate?...:groan:

plod
13-03-2011, 12:51 PM
Why do you post such naff comments, when you have no idea mate?...:groan:

post count

Agent_24
13-03-2011, 01:13 PM
x2

SolMiester
13-03-2011, 01:17 PM
post count

Come on, that's just cruel!

Agent_24
13-03-2011, 01:32 PM
To be fair he does seem pretty helpful most of the time...

Speedy Gonzales
13-03-2011, 01:45 PM
Because I can. Post count? I dont think so. I wouldnt care less about the post count

decibel
13-03-2011, 01:58 PM
Is there a way to connect both tv and blu-ray to network with the one ethernet cable?

Yes, you can do it with this -
http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=381043
You will need two- one at each end, you will be limited to 100Mb/s (no GigE) and then you will need 4 short patch cords and two spare ports on the switch.

The way it works is that fastethernet only uses 2 out of the 4 pairs on a normal network cable - this gizmo uses the 2 spare pairs and brings them out on another socket.

Ahh - no. Second thoughts - this is intended when you have female wall sockets, you have a cable with male ends. Sorry, it's going to be messy.

Third thoughts - you might as well bite the bullet and get a switch, a 5 port switch is less than $30. and there is bound to be a day in the near future when you want another port behind the TV.

stone2
13-03-2011, 08:49 PM
Thanks everyone for your help.
Yep simplest solution will be a switch.

P.S. why the arrogance speedy? You're usually very helpful.

Paul.Cov
13-03-2011, 09:30 PM
Well, given the conclusion to all this, Speedy was pretty much on the money.

And given the expense of all the kit you have, why should another switch be a big issue?

Agent_24
13-03-2011, 09:41 PM
Not really.

The simplest solution IS what Chilling said first, although you do need a crimping tool.