PDA

View Full Version : New RAM advice



nofam
03-03-2011, 09:03 PM
I'm after some more RAM for my new media centre, and as I know sweet FA about it, I'm somewhat confused.

As per the screenshots, the RAM is DDR2 6400/400Mhz. . . . . but when I look on Pricespy, the DDR2 seems to be either 6400/800Mhz or 3200/400Mhz.

What am I after exactly? :waughh:

CYaBro
03-03-2011, 09:09 PM
As far as I can see you have DDR2-800 RAM currently.

gary67
04-03-2011, 07:00 AM
I just sold some on TM that would have been perfect

jinja_thom
04-03-2011, 08:49 AM
DDR stands for Double Data Rate
400 Mhz is the clock frequency 800 is the data transfer rate, 2 bits/clock pulse
Confusion Marketing uses the higher number because it looks better.

wratterus
04-03-2011, 09:06 AM
Yep - DDR2 800 or PC2 6400 same thing.

http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=375147

http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=358739

nofam
04-03-2011, 09:24 AM
Yep - DDR2 800 or PC2 6400 same thing.

http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=375147

http://www.ascent.co.nz/productspecification.aspx?ItemID=358739

Cheer guys - so what's the difference (other than capacity obviously) between the good stuff like above, and budgo stuff like Kingston ValueRAM?

And in a HTPC/XBMC scenario does RAM quality make a difference?

Agent_24
04-03-2011, 09:36 AM
Often the cheaper stuff just won't overclock as well, but should usually last just as well.