PDA

View Full Version : Will my Gigabyte HD5670 work on A Mobo with a 8x slot?



PC builder
07-02-2011, 05:22 PM
I recently bought a Gigabyte HD5670 and didn't know that It was Pci express x16 I have a Gigabyte GA-M61SME-S2 That has a Pci express x8 and x1 slot will the card still work at half its speed? Or should I get a new motherboard?
More info about Card http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3312#s
p

thank you

8ftmetalhaed
07-02-2011, 05:40 PM
should do, but I have heard mention that some ATI cards apparently don't like older revisions of the PCIE standard.

That said, it should work. If it doesn't, return it and get an NVIDIA equivalent.

oh and edit - shouldn't really make a difference to overall performance, since many GPUs have scalable performance and all that, and not many make absolutely full use of the 16 lanes they're given anyway.

qazwsxokmijn
07-02-2011, 05:50 PM
According to the official website here:

http://www.giga-byte.co.za/Products/Motherboard/Products_Spec.aspx?ClassValue=Motherboard&ProductID=2507&ProductName=GA-M61SME-S2

The slot is a full x16.

EDIT: Eh, scratch that. That's weird, it says it only supports up to 8x mode, even though physically it's a x16 slot.....

PC builder
08-02-2011, 04:47 PM
According to the official website here:

http://www.giga-byte.co.za/Products/Motherboard/Products_Spec.aspx?ClassValue=Motherboard&ProductID=2507&ProductName=GA-M61SME-S2

The slot is a full x16.

EDIT: Eh, scratch that. That's weird, it says it only supports up to 8x mode, even though physically it's a x16 slot..... Yea I thought that too

PC builder
08-02-2011, 05:04 PM
According to the official website here:

http://www.giga-byte.co.za/Products/Motherboard/Products_Spec.aspx?ClassValue=Motherboard&ProductID=2507&ProductName=GA-M61SME-S2

The slot is a full x16.

EDIT: Eh, scratch that. That's weird, it says it only supports up to 8x mode, even though physically it's a x16 slot..... Yea I thought that too