PDA

View Full Version : The best wireless internet ISP in NZ.

qetzal
24-01-2011, 08:05 AM
Hi all,
I am a foreign student and come to NZ soon. Please, help me to choose the best wireless internet ISP in Auckland with a stable connection, which is able to keep at least 200 KB/s download speed 24/7. Thanks for all advices and good luck!

Halwende
24-01-2011, 09:20 AM
If you're in these coverage areas (when you get here) you can try Compass, a friend of mine uses them and he gets 500kb+ out Manukau way... http://www.compass.net.nz/residential/internet/lineofsight.asp

Another one to consider would be Woosh (www.woosh.co.nz), my brother is with them now and they offered him a real cheap package (internet + VOIP phone, etc) but the speeds are not as good

Chilling_Silence
24-01-2011, 11:18 AM
At least 200KB/sec 24/7?
You do realize that in NZ we have data caps ... Most students in this country only have such lavish requirements if they're planning on pirating large amounts of movies / TV.

Perhaps if you give us a little more info on your requirements, such as if you want it to be 802.11* wireless, or something such as Woosh, why you want it wireless, why you need the data cap, what you need in terms of jitter etc, and we can go from there.

gary67
24-01-2011, 12:19 PM
Or do you mean wireless in your place of residence such as having a wireless router to provide you with wireless, or will there be no phone line so no ADSL

qetzal
24-01-2011, 12:53 PM
Halwende, thanks.

At least 200KB/sec 24/7?
You do realize that in NZ we have data caps ... Most students in this country only have such lavish requirements if they're planning on pirating large amounts of movies / TV.

No, I don't want to download data 24/7 nonstop. I would like to have a good solid connection for skype video calls, periodic videostream watching and comfortable surfing. I need about 2-3GB per month.