PDA

View Full Version : PSU Power Usage



icow
23-01-2011, 11:22 AM
You know how psu's have a "w" number which equals the amount of power that it has/can take. Is there a way of measuring/seeing the amount of that number is being used?


P.S sorry if that doesn't make sense I wasn't sure how to explain it.

feersumendjinn
23-01-2011, 11:31 AM
You mean Wattage?
Probably the easiest way to do that in realtime is to go and buy a plug-in power meter at your local supermarket or hardware shop.

SP8's
23-01-2011, 11:53 AM
I did see a "meter" at the Warehouse .... similar to a tap-on plug that goes ito the 3 pin wall socket and allows an appliance (heater, washing machine, dryer etc.) to then be plugged into that. It gives a reading of how much power you are using but couldn't say how accurate they'd be and can't remember what readings it gave.

I think you were able to input the cost of a kWh - kilowatt hours - then it would tell you how many kWh you were using and also the cost.

We were looking at getting a couple to see how much the kids were using their heaters but found out they had a reset button on them ... and knowing kids, they'd find it real quick ... :D

kahawai chaser
23-01-2011, 12:32 PM
Microsoft research has the "joule-meter application" (http://research.microsoft.com/en-us/downloads/fe9e10c5-5c5b-450c-a674-daf55565f794/default.aspx) that calculates PC power consumption (not sure how it works, I just remember article I read a while back). For costing you need know the unit price/kilowatt (or whatever) of your power supplier. PC power consumption article (http://www.labnol.org/software/calculate-electricity-cost-of-computer/13744/).

jebby
23-01-2011, 12:55 PM
Hi, I have a meter built into my PSU & it reads on average 106-110 watts, don't know if that helps.