PDA

View Full Version : "Out Of Range" Error



icow
20-01-2011, 08:51 PM
I was messing with the settings in age of mythology and accidentally set the resolution higher than my monitor can view. Now when ever I star the game I cant' see anything. Tried the compat menu by setting 640x800 and 256 colours but it didn't work. Can I fix this without reinstalling?

DeSade
20-01-2011, 08:53 PM
See if the game has a config utility in the install directory.

icow
20-01-2011, 08:54 PM
no :(

feersumendjinn
20-01-2011, 08:55 PM
Does the game have a safe mode setting (look in the Start Menu/Programs)?

Speedy Gonzales
20-01-2011, 08:56 PM
See if theres a txt file (the config info) in the game folder

DeSade
20-01-2011, 08:58 PM
Ok then in the same directory there are INI files.
Look for the main one it could be called something like
aom.ini
ageofmythology.ini
etc

list them all if unsure and I will tell you which one it is.

Right click on it and choose "Open With" Notepad
Look through the options for the resolution and change it manually to within the range.

icow
20-01-2011, 08:58 PM
yay safe video mode!

icow
20-01-2011, 08:59 PM
TYVM everyone

1156
21-01-2011, 05:51 PM
Alternatively what could work, if that didnt, is when you run the game press Alt Enter, and it should make it run in a window, instead of full screen, therefore should be at your normal resolution