PDA

View Full Version : Processor sockets and compatibility



The Error Guy
13-01-2011, 12:21 AM
If I had a machine with an S1 socket that currently had a AMD Turion X2 64 (2Ghz) Could I put any S1 Mobile processor in? or any processor from the turion class?

I'm not 100% sure how this works for laptops especially as the Mobo is custom built by Quanta for HP so there are no specs avaliable.

Cheers for help


Also, where can you buy mobile processors? from what I can see, AMD don't sell them directly nor can I find suppliers that sell mobile CPU's.

gary67
13-01-2011, 07:48 AM
Normally you would go to the moo manufacturers site and see what the supported CPU's are

The Error Guy
13-01-2011, 03:04 PM
Normally yes, but as it is with laptops nothing works right :(

The "moo" manufacturer as it were is Quanta, Model number 3600. Available details are very hard to find as the 3600 was a custom design for HP/Compaq from memory.

I'll try contacting Quanta directly